It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Only finding an abstract or citation for an article when searching within databases? No worries, just look for the Find It link or the Ferris FullText link.
The Find It link tends to look like one of the following:
The Ferris FullText looks like one of the following:
Example Results List with Find It or Ferris FullText Link
Not all databases will display the results in the same format, but regardless of the results list's layout, locate the Find It or Ferris FullText link if the article isn't immediately available in full text. Below is an example of both the Find It link and the Ferris FullText link displaying in 2 different results sets.
ILL (Interlibrary Loan) Basics
The Ferris Library, FLITE, cannot subscribe to every journal available. If there is no Full Text option available after clicking on Find It ortrying Google Scholar:
Interlibrary Loan Instructions:
If you have never used Interlibrary Loan (ILL) before, you must first set up an account. Please do the following:
Go through the above-linked screen, and at the bottom click on First Time Users Click Here.
Fill out every field with an asterisk, then hit Submit Information, and you've created your own personal ILL account.
*Please note, the ILL username and password is simply anything that you can remember, so you don't have to get too fancy.
Once you have an ILL account created, the Find It link makes it simple to request desired articles via interlibrary loan.
Click on the GO button by ILL (Interlibrary Loan)
You'll be taken to the screen to login to your personal interlibrary loan account
Once logged in, you'll notice all of the article information has been filled in, simply scroll to the bottom of the screen and hit Submit Request.
Your article request will be processed, and when the article is secured, it will be posted online in your account. You will receive an e-mail notice from the library that your article is available. The e-mail contains a link to login to your ILL account. Once logged in, select View, and then select Electronically Received Articles.
Your article will be in PDF format, and you can print or save the article. Please print or save the article soon after receiving notice of its availability - articles are removed from your account after 4 weeks for copyright reasons.
I clicked Find It or Ferris Full Text. Now What?????
After clicking on Find It, you may see one of the following:
1) Read Article or Download PDF: Click on either option to go directly to the article's full text. Automatically download the article and save it!
2) Available online through the Library's linking system: Under View Online click on a link under Full textavailability to link out to the desired resource.
3) Available through Google Scholar or Interlibrary Loan: The library can't subscribe to every journal, but try Google Scholar to see if the article has been posted online, and if not you can use Interlibrary Loan to request an online copy of the article (Interlibrary Loan is free!). You'll first be prompted to login with your MyFSU credentials to check for full text availability:
Next, try Google Scholar, and if that doesn't work for full text, you can use Interlibrary Loan!
If links are broken, please report broken links so we can fix them! Please continue to the section below to learn how to use Interlibrary Loan.