Databases by Broad Subject Areas

News coverage at the local, state, regional, national, and international level from over 12,400 print and online newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos.

Full text articles from over 350 of the most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals from 1970 to present.

Digitized pages of over 500 newspapers from a variety of penal institutions including those focused on women.

To use: Register here using your Ferris email address or login with your New York Times account.
In-depth, personalized sports journalism.

Digitized pages of every issue of the Chicago Defender from 1909 through 1975 including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.

Digitized pages of every issue of the Chicago Tribune from 1849 through 1998 including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.

News, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators updated each weekday.

Digitized pages of every issue of the Detroit Free Press from 1831 through 1999 including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.

Digitized pages of every issue of the Detroit News from 1999 to present including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.

Full text articles from 340 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990 to present. Also includes 300,000 full text articles from Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Of the total of 2.5 million articles over 625,000 articles (25%) are in Spanish.

Full text articles covering local, regional, state issues from 2000 to present.

Digitized pages of every issue of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper, from 1857 to 1912.

Digitized pages of over 19,000 issues of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced during the latter half of the 20th century by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press.

Full text articles from 150 local and regional newspapers including The Detroit News from 1999 to present, The Grand Rapids Press from 2012 to present, and the Pioneer (Big Rapids) from 2007 to present.

Full text newspaper articles from over 2,300 U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers searchable by title, headline, date, author, or newspaper section. Also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Full text news articles from over 860 newspapers, newswires, news magazines, radio transcripts, and other popular news sources.

Digitized pages of every issue of the New York Times from 1851 through 2020 including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.

To use: Register here by selecting Ferris State University and creating an account using your Ferris email address
Live news, investigations, opinion, photos and video by the journalists of The New York Times from more than 150 countries around the world accessible from anywhere including their mobile app.

Full text from every issue of The Pioneer from 2007 to present including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.

Searches six historical newspapers including the Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

Full text articles from over 80 publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within in the United States.

Digitized pages of thousands of fliers, pamphlets, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, bulletins, letters, press releases, and ephemera. Documents the range of student activism with all political viewpoints from conservative to anarchist represented.

Digitized pages of every issue of the Washington Post from 1877 through 2008 including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.