Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dental Hygiene Research Guide: Finding Articles

Learn about library resources and recommended websites for dental hygiene.

Why Bother with Library Databases?

why?

Everson, B. (2012). Why? [photo]. CC. Retrieved from http://www.flickr.com/photos/editor/6698208975/

1. Most of what you find on Google isn't scholarly.

2. When you do find something scholarly on Google, the site often asks you to pay for it.

3. You should never have to pay for content.  That's what the library is for!

Help - How do I get the Full Text?

Only finding an abstract or citation for an article when searching within databases?  No worries, just look for the Find It link or the Ferris FullText link.

The Find It link tends to look like one of the following:

Image of Yellow Box Find It link

Image of Find It as a regular hyperlink

The Ferris FullText looks like one of the following:

Ferris FullText link

What is a Database

Image of thought bubble that says Databases

What is a database?? A database is "A collection of information organized in such a way that a computer program can quickly select desired pieces of data. You can think of a database as an electronic filing system" (University of Toledo Computer Science and Engineering Glossary, nd.).

So, if you want to find information on a certain topic, you can do a keyword search to find the related "files", or in this case, most likely articles.

You likely use databases all of the time, such as Google, or online shopping websites, but don't even realize that a database is what you're using.

The Databases by Major option is a quick route to find databases for your research!

More about CINAHL and PubMed

  • Canadian Journal of Dental Hygiene
  • Community Dental Health
  • International Journal of Dental Hygiene
  • Journal of Dental Hygiene
  • Journal of the American Dental Association
  • and more......
  • Advances in Dental Research
  • International Dental Journal
  • International Journal of Dental Hygiene
  • Journal of Dental Hygiene
  • Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice
  • Journal of the Canadian Dental Association
  • Journal of the American Dental Association
  • Journal of Dentistry
  • Oral Health & Dental Management
  • and more.......

More about Gale PowerSearch and Health & Wellness (Gale)

  • Journals (including: Australian Dental Journal, Canadian Journal of Dental Hygiene, European Journal of Dental Education, International Dental Journal, Managed Dental Care, Journal of Dental Hygiene, and more.....)
  • Magazines, including trade magazines
  • Books
  • Newspapers
  • Videos
  • Podcasts
  • Book and Fact Sheets: great overviews and background information, as well as patient-oriented information
  • Journals and Magazines
  • Drugs & Herbal Remedies
  • Pamphlets
  • Videos
  • News