It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This book is a one-stop resource for learning how to harness the power of the latest scientific information and optimize patient care. How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Your Clinical Decision-Making is the definitive resource for dental students and practitioners who want to learn from leaders in the field of evidence-based dentistry (EBD); quickly conduct searches for the latest research; master the skill of critically appraising clinical studies; confidently apply the latest research to patient care; teach others how to inform their practice with the latest clinical evidence; and access everything they need to become an EBD all-star. The ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry oversaw the development of this publication. Dental teams and educators alike will find it a useful resource for incorporating the most up-to-date scientific evidence in clinical decisions and instilling others with the curious mindset needed to provide evidence-based health care.
In 2000, the US Surgeon General announced that dental caries is a "silent epidemic" and the most prevalent disease affecting children. Though much has been written on the science and practice of managing this disease, publications are diverse in their loci preventing easy access to the reader. Early Childhood Oral Health coalesces all important information related to this important topic in a comprehensive reference for students, academics, and practioners. In addition to the latest information about preventing childhood caries, other topics include public health approaches to managing caries worldwide, implementation of new prevention programs, fluoride regimens, and new technologies in caries risk assessment. A must-read for pediatric dentists, cariologists,public health dentists, and students in these fields, Early Childhood Oral Health is also relevant for pediatricians and pediatric nursing specialists worldwide.
Common Medical Conditions: A Guide for the Dental Team is an invaluable reference outlining the clinical features, diagnosis, management and dental relevance of 50 of the most commonly encountered chronic medical problems in the developed world. Written by an internationally renowned and experienced team of authors the book includes full colour photographs throughout, as well as case studies with accompanying questions and answers to illustrate each condition. For ease of reference the book is organised by systems with sections on: Cardiovascular, Respiratory, Metabolic and Endocrine, Gastrointestinal, Hematological, Mental Health, Neurological, Osteoarticular, Mucocutaneous and Infectious diseases.
Use these databases to access individual books, as well as cross-search numerous books for the most relevant information.
Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, etc.
FLITE has a large number of online reference books available through our Online Reference Resources collection, containing many encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference books. Entries from encyclopedias and other reference books can be great sources for background information! See the selection of Online Reference Resources linked below.
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 9th Edition, is the perfect resource for the dental team as well as students. With its user-friendly monograph organization of more than 800 commonly prescribed drugs and their interactions, this durable, pocket-sized reference provides quick and convenient information in a variety of settings. It's updated to include new dental-specific drugs approved by the FDA since the publication of the last edition.
The new sixth edition of this comprehensive manual on pediatric nutrition has been expanded considerably to reflect new scientific insights. Covering how nutrients influence and direct growth and development, as well as immediate and long-term health, from birth through adolescence is a valuable desk reference. This evidence-based manual reflects the current policies and practices recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics, Committee on Nutrition. Product Highlights: " Chapters cover: Cultural considerations in feeding children Nutritional support for children who are neurologically impaired Anorexia nervosa and bulimia nervosa Nutrition for children with sickle cell disease Nutritional management of children with renal disease Gastrointestinal disease and cardiac disease Nutrition in cystic fibrosis Food safety: pesticides, industrial chemicals, toxins, food additives, and more " Includes greatly expanded appendices of more than 50 tables including dietary allowances, energy requirements, composition of human milk and infant formulas, food exchanges, and more " Includes more than 20 growth charts including charts for very low, and low birth weight infants, full-term infants, children and adolescents; and down syndrome growth charts