Skip to main content

Optometry: Articles (databases)

A brief overview of optometry resources you may find useful

If you need help with your search

You are always welcome to contact Heather!  You can also try:

Optometry and Life Sciences Librarian

Heather Symon Bassett's picture
Heather Symon Bassett
Contact:
1010 Campus Drive, FLITE 206
Big Rapids, MI 49307
(231) 591-3770

SmartSearch

Search most of FLITE's resources right here (including many, but not all, optometry resources):


Best Bet Databases

If you're doing in-depth research or just didn't find what you need in SmartSearch, it may be time for you to delve into these subject-specific databases.  (Mouseover for more info on each.)

Other Useful Databases

How to get the Full Text of an Article through a FLITE database

Click on the "Find It" link to find the full text for your citation.  Depending on which FLITE database you are in, it might look different.  Sign in for access as needed with your MyFSU login and password.

Find It link to access full text for an article

Full text options through FLITE

After clicking on 'Find It', you often will see a screen with one or more options to access full text through FLITE.  Choose one of the full text options to access the full text of your article through FLITE.

After clicking on Find It, you will often see a screen with one or more options to access full text through FLITE.  Choose one of the full text options to access the full text of your article through FLITE.

No Full Text option for your article through FLITE, now what?

FLITE cannot subscribe to every journal.  If there are no full text options available through FLITE, try the 'Google Scholar' link first, then click on 'Interlibrary Loan' for document delivery.

If no full text options are available through FLITE, try Google Scholar first, and then the interlibrary loan option for document delivery.

If you clicked 'Interlibrary Loan' (after checking Google Scholar), you will be taken to the ILLiad (interlibrary loan) screen.  Login with your username and password (not your MyFSU login and password).  First time ILLiad users must register for an account before making requests.

After clicking 'Interlibrary Loan' you will be taken to the ILLiad screen.  Login with your username and password (not your MyFSU login and password).  First time ILLiad users must register for an account before making requests.

More about ILLiad (interlibrary loan) article requests:

  • You will receive an email when a PDF of the article your requested is available in your ILLiad account 
  • The article will be available in your ILLiad account for three weeks
  • If you choose the 'Interlibrary loan' option to access full text while searching in a FLITE database, ILLiad's 'Article Request' form will prepopulate with citation information 
  • If you have citation information and FLITE did not have full text for your item, you can also make a request by logging directly into ILLiad and manually entering citation information into the 'Article Request' form

Login to ILLiad

ILLiad Login


New to ILL? Create an account

Forgot password?

Get help with ILL through Chat or by emailing the ILL Library Assistant at KellyMcNeill@ferris.edu