Optometry Research Guide: Course Textbooks available Online through FLITE

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www-sciencedirect-com.ferris.idm.oclc.org/book/9780750672627/geometric-physical-and-visual-optics Fundamental text for an optometric curriculum, a student studying for the optometry boards, or a person interested in optics and vision

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=6380263 This book covers every clinically important aspect of visual science, including color vision and its defects, spatial vision, temporal aspects of vision, psychophysics, physiology, and development and maturation of the visual system.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.sciencedirect.com/book/9781437719260/clinical-anatomy-and-physiology-of-the-visual-system
Taking the place of the multiple texts traditionally needed to cover visual anatomy and physiology, Clinical Anatomy and Physiology of the Visual System, 3rd Edition dramatically lightens your load by providing one book that covers it all! This concise, well-referenced resource contains information on the clinical anatomy of the eye, its adnexa and visual pathways, histologic information, plus newly added content on physiology of the human ocular structures......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=6380251 The definitive skill-building guide to ocular examination procedures--now revised and updated A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Clinical Procedures for Ocular Examination, Fourth Edition is the must-have eye care resource, whether you're a student, resident, or practitioner......

Course-friendly link: https://www-sciencedirect-com.ferris.idm.oclc.org/book/9780750674805/system-for-ophthalmic-dispensing
This book provides a step-by-step system for properly fitting and adjusting eyewear. It covers every aspect of dispensing - from basic terminology to frame selection to eyewear fitting, adjusting, and repairing.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5553745 A readable, well-illustrated and concise overview of the principles of human pathology.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.sciencedirect.com/book/9780323029612/clinical-medicine-in-optometric-practice This updated new edition is a practical guide to the evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of systemic disorders as they relate to primary eye care. It incorporates a multidisciplinary approach, from the underlying pathophysiological mechanisms, to testing and diagnosis methods, to medical and surgical management....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=6380251 The definitive skill-building guide to ocular examination procedures--now revised and updated A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Clinical Procedures for Ocular Examination, Fourth Edition is the must-have eye care resource, whether you're a student, resident, or practitioner......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&PAGE=booktext&NEWS=N&DF=bookdb&CSC=Y&AN=02148837/5th_Edition&XPATH=/PG(0)
The first new edition of Clinical Management of Binocular Vision in five years has been updated--across all chapters--with new guidelines and protocols based on the latest research in the field. You'll learn how to perform current, clinically accurate assessments, diagnoses, and therapies for a wide range of conditions.......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=6380251 The definitive skill-building guide to ocular examination procedures--now revised and updated A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Clinical Procedures for Ocular Examination, Fourth Edition is the must-have eye care resource, whether you're a student, resident, or practitioner......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F0-387-27925-3
Based on Dr. Wright's classic major reference, Handbook of Pediatric Strabismus and Amblyopia outlines the latest findings in diagnosing the most commonly presenting problems in pediatic cases, offering the most complete assessment tools for accurate diagnosis and then best treatment options........

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&PAGE=booktext&NEWS=N&DF=bookdb&CSC=Y&AN=02158036/5th_Edition
Up to date, easy to use, and well-illustrated, Clinical Manual of Contact Lenses, 5th Edition, helps both students and practitioners fit, evaluate, and troubleshoot contact lens issues in everyday practice............

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=6037687
Includes newly updated bonus e-chapter on Learning from the COVID-19 Pandemic.Offering a thorough, accessible and lively overview of public heath for students new to the field, Introduction to Public Health offers a broad-reaching, practical framework for understanding the forces and organizations of public health today.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-7506-7576-5.X5001-0
Written by experts in the field, this comprehensive resource offers valuable information on the practical uses of drugs in primary eye care.......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.sciencedirect.com/book/9780323653756/drug-induced-ocular-side-effects
Written by global experts in the field of chemical- and drug-related ocular problems, Drug-Induced Ocular Side Effects, 8th Edition, provides need-to-know information on all aspects of ocular toxicology in one concise reference. This best-selling, user-friendly resource features a templated format, numerous full-color illustrations, and sweeping content updates throughout - all designed to eliminate uncertainty and ensure accurate diagnosis and treatment guidance. Provides comprehensive coverage of drugs' generic and trade names, primary uses, ocular and systemic side effects, and clinical significance. Features a unique side effect index, a new concise paperback format for portability, and clinical photos of ocular symptoms of adverse drug reactions......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&PAGE=booktext&NEWS=N&DF=bookdb&CSC=Y&AN=02158041/4th_Edition&XPATH=/PG(0)
Offering concise, easy-access information for the most common ocular problems,Ocular Therapeutics Handbook: A Clinical Manual is a proven, practical resource for optometrists, nurses, and primary care physicians. A consistent outline format and numerous algorithms make vital information easy to retrieve, while a problem-oriented approach provides a real-world perspective and helps build critical thinking skills.......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=3322881&site=ehost-live
A source of guidance on the treatment of ocular disorders in a variety of settings, this book provides highly illustrated information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions along with proven clinical recommendations from initial diagnosis through extended treatment. Features easily accessible clinical recommendations for evaluation, diagnosis, management, and treatment.

Course-friendly link:
https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=3297560&site=ehost-live Major revision. Section 6 begins with in-depth discussions on the pediatric eye examination. Chapters in part one cover extraocular muscle anatomy, amblyopia, sensory physiology and pathology, and the diagnostic evaluation of strabismus. Get updated information on clinical features, diagnosis and treatment of esodeviations and exodeviations, pattern strabismus, vertical deviations, nystagmus, and special forms of strabismus. Part two features major revisions with content updates on pediatric uveitis and includes phenotype-guided case studies. An expanded discussion on childhood ocular trauma with a new chapter dedicated to unique issues in pediatric chronic eye care. This revision includes 66 videos, plus seven animations demonstrating the Krimsky test, cover-uncover test, alternate cover test, prism alternate cover test, simultaneous prism and cover test with eight activities and case studies. New flowcharts to simplify the classification of common forms of horizontal strabismus. Upon completion of Section 6, readers should be able to: Describe evaluation techniques for young children that provide the maximum gain of information with the least trauma and frustration. Explain the classification and diagnosis of amblyopia, as well as the treatment options. Describe the commonly used diagnostic and measurement tests for strabismus, plus identify and treat pattern and vertical strabismus, as well as special forms of strabismus. List the possible complications of strabismus surgery, and describe guidelines to minimize them. Design an approach to the diagnosis of decreased vision in children, and list resources available to these patients.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&PAGE=booktext&NEWS=N&DF=bookdb&CSC=Y&AN=02158165/2nd_Edition&XPATH=/PG(0)
This second comprehensive edition of Visual Development, Diagnosis, and Treatment of the Pediatric Patient combines basic concepts of vision development with clinical diagnosis and treatment of vision disorders in infants, toddlers, children, and adolescents. Heavily updated, with new sections on timely issues and topics, the book is ideal for anyone who needs to know the practical aspects of evaluation and care of pediatric patients. Contains brand-new chapters on special needs patients, assessment and anomalies of neurological function, electrodiagnostics, and sports & environmental vision.......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=2031822 Visual Diagnosis and Care of the Patient with Special Needs provides a thorough review of the eye and vision care needs of patients with special needs. This book gives you a better understanding of the most frequently encountered developmental and acquired disabilities seen in the eye care practitioner's office. These disabilities include patients with autism, brain injury, Fragile X syndrome and Down syndrome, as well as those with psychiatric illness, dual diagnosis, and more. The text discusses, in great detail, the visual issues inherent in these populations and their possible treatment.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&PAGE=booktext&NEWS=N&DF=bookdb&CSC=Y&AN=02148837/5th_Edition&XPATH=/PG(0)
The first new edition of Clinical Management of Binocular Vision in five years has been updated--across all chapters--with new guidelines and protocols based on the latest research in the field. You'll learn how to perform current, clinically accurate assessments, diagnoses, and therapies for a wide range of conditions.......