Optometry Research Guide: Books

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=2272462&site=ehost-live Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Clinical Cases in Eye Care provides real-world case examples to illustrate the current scope of primary eye care practice. Over 120 clinical cases help readers gain familiarity with frequently seen scenarios as they would unfold in a typical setting. This case collection is a useful teaching and learning tool for instructors, students and clinicians. Provides more than 120 clinical case examples written by global experts who discuss conditions that they encounter on a regular basis in the clinical setting. Supports problem-based learning strategies used in contemporary eye care education, stimulating real-world questions and discussion throughout the curriculum. Covers a wide range of cases commonly seen in today's practice, including refractive, perceptual, binocular vision, anterior and posterior segment, neurological and systemic disorders. Includes a detailed account of patient history and clinical findings for each case, as well as the diagnosis, a sample treatment plan and clinical pearls from the contributing author....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5639382 Due to the growing population of dry eye patients, there has been much study of dry eye disease. Following the full reports of the International Dry Eye Workshops of 2007 and 2017 (DEWS I and II), as well as the recent Dry Eye Assessment and Management (DREAM) trial, there is a growing body of consensus and evidence-based literature on the treatment of dry eye. Dry Eye Disease: A Practical Guide synthesizes all these scientific sources into a comprehensive, yet, user-friendly clinical reference. From epidemiology and pathogenesis, to disease subgroups, diagnostics, and management, Drs. Francis Mah and Michelle Rhee with their team of over 35 renowned contributors have distilled all the latest information on dry eye disease into an easily digestible guide......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=2623726&site=ehost-live The Owner's Manual for Your Eyes: The most comprehensive guide to taking care of vision. Winner of the National Health Information Award (Consumer Decision-Making Information) by the National Health Information Awards, American Book Fest Best Book Social Change and Current Events by the American Book Fest. In The Eye Book, specialist Dr. Gary H. Cassel presents readers with trusted, evidence-based information they can rely on to protect vision and learn more about how to treat any eye problems that come up. This easy-to-understand volume takes a step-by-step approach, providing an overview of the eye's anatomy, a tour of healthy vision, and an explanation of what steps readers and health care providers should take to address vision issues. Drawing on years of clinical experience with patients, Cassel also looks at eye complications associated with common medical conditions (for example, diabetes) along with the best treatments for eye conditions, such as cataracts and glaucoma....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=1690653&site=ehost-live Key Features: Identify ocular diseases and disorders with the aid of more than 750 high-quality color illustrations. Master the latest knowledge in the field with thorough updates on abusive head trauma; spectral domain optical coherence tomography (SD-OCT); the revised IC3D classification of corneal dystrophies; IgG4-related disease; the genetics of melanoma and retinoblastoma; interpretation of lamellar keratoplasty specimens from DALK, DSEK, and refractive surgical procedures; immunohistochemistry; and much more.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/book/10.1002/9781119630630 Now in its tenth edition, Manual for Eye Examination and Diagnosis is the leading introductory clinical textbook in the field, providing concise and practical coverage of anatomy, instrumentation, differential diagnosis and treatment of ophthalmic diseases and disorders. This accessible resource offers clear explanations of current diagnostic techniques, equipment, and best practice; hundreds of full-color clinical photographs and diagrams; and step-by-step guidance on a range of key procedures......

Course-friendly link: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=1690653&site=ehost-live Developed at Philadelphia's world-renowned Wills Eye Hospital, the Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology series covers the most clinically relevant aspects of ophthalmology in a highly visual, easy-to-use format. Vibrant, full-color photos and a consistent outline structure present a succinct, high-yield approach to the seven topics covered by this popular series: Cornea, Retina, Glaucoma, Oculoplastics, Neuro-Ophthalmology, Pediatrics, and Uveitis . This in-depth, focused approach makes each volume an excellent companion to the larger Wills Eye Manual as well as a practical stand-alone reference for students, residents, and practitioners in every area of ophthalmology......

Bridge the gap between ophthalmology and pathology with the 8th Edition of this comprehensive, easy-to-understand reference from Drs. Myron Yanoff and Joseph W. Sassani. Designed to keep you up to date with every aspect of the field, from current imaging techniques to genetics and molecular biology to clinical pearls, Ocular Pathology provides the concise yet complete information you need for board exams and clinical practice. Includes new coverage of genetics and molecular biology, complications in diabetes mellitus, and the role of new drugs and other treatments for macular degeneration. Covers the latest imaging techniques, including optical coherence tomography (OCT), anterior segment OCT (AS-OCT) and OCT-angiography. Contains new images throughout that provide updated correlations between pathological and clinical aspects of each disorder. Clinicopathological correlations are presented with side-by-side image comparisons to make clinical pearl boxes even more useful. Features more than 1,900 illustrations from the collections of internationally renowned leaders in ocular pathology. Presents information in a quick-reference outline format - ideal for today's busy physician.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=3322881&site=ehost-live
A source of guidance on the treatment of ocular disorders in a variety of settings, this book provides highly illustrated information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions along with proven clinical recommendations from initial diagnosis through extended treatment. Features easily accessible clinical recommendations for evaluation, diagnosis, management, and treatment.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=3166263&site=ehost-live Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Providing a solid foundation in clinical medicine for optometrists and optometry students, Clinical Medicine for Optometrists covers the systemic medical conditions that have serious impacts on ocular health and function, as well as the ocular exam findings that may be an early indication of significant systemic disease. This unique text explains important medical considerations for optometric practice, meeting the needs of clinical medicine courses in optometry programs, and also serving as a practical reference for optometrists in practice.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5829222 Developed at Philadelphia's world-renowned Wills Eye Hospital, the Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology series covers the most clinically relevant aspects of ophthalmology in a highly visual, easy-to-use format. Vibrant, full-color photos and a consistent outline structure present a succinct, high-yield approach to the seven topics covered by this popular series: Cornea, Retina, Glaucoma, Oculoplastics, Neuro-Ophthalmology, Pediatrics, and Uveitis . This in-depth, focused approach makes each volume an excellent companion to the larger Wills Eye Manual as well as a practical stand-alone reference for students, residents, and practitioners in every area of ophthalmology. The updated Cornea volume includes: Guidelines for the differential diagnosis and treatment of cornea diseases as seen by the ophthalmic resident, general ophthalmologist, and cornea specialist. New information on infections and new complications of corneal surgeries. More than 450 high-quality photographs of important corneal, anterior segment, and external diseases, many new and updated for this 3rd edition. Up-to-date coverage of the clinical features of key cornea and external eye diseases, diagnostic tests, differential diagnoses, and treatment. In addition, there are over 430 NEW images available on-line to augment the photographs in the text.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link.springer.com/referencework/10.1007/978-3-540-69000-9
Note: Scroll down to see the alphabetical listings and the option to search within this encyclopedia. Rapid advances in pathogenetic insight, diagnostic and therapeutic modalities, and basic research continuously influence the state of the art in ophthalmology. This comprehensive encyclopedia offers a systematic and complete source of information including basic principles and novel updates, both clinical and scientific. The encyclopaedic format offers comprehensive access to focused information on all relevant topics in a clear and user-friendly manner. The spectrum ranges from short definitions, cross references, acronyms to disease chapters including epidemiology, symptoms and differential diagnosis, sections on diagnostic and therapeutic technologies, and comprehensive scientific summaries describing recent findings as well as results from relevant studies. The material is presented in a standardized, uniform and concise way throughout all clinical and academic sections. High-quality images highlight visual information and tables and graphs summarize important data. The encyclopaedia is available in book and electronic format which is linked to relevant ophthalmologic journals and is continuously updated. All chapters are authored by leading experts in the specific field. The target audiences are clinicians in ophthalmology and related specialties, researchers, and students.

Freely available ebook. You don't have to purchase this ebook, scroll down to the download option