Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you need help with your search
Search most of FLITE's resources right here (including many, but not all, optometry resources):
Best Bet Databases
If you're doing in-depth research or just didn't find what you need in SmartSearch, it may be time for you to delve into these subject-specific databases. (Mouseover for more info on each.)
This is the preeminent database for finding health and medical articles. It is not only the largest biomedical database, but it is also freely available through the National Library of Medicine. Pubmed contains the contents of Medline, Old Medline, and Pre-Medline. In addition, there are many related links within PubMed including consumer health information, toxicology information, & more!
Citations for over 335,000 articles from 1984 to present on subjects such as optometry, ophthalmology, medical sciences, contact lenses, reading, learning disabilities, aging, perception, and practice management.
Contact FLITE for access
Other Useful Databases
3D interactive models of human anatomy as well as media, x-rays, MRIs, animations, and live-action movies. Video clips can be downloaded for use in presentations.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (EBSCO)
Citations for over 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health from 1981 to present on nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Also includes health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters.
Contains different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making and provides information about Cochrane groups.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Over 26 million full text articles and citations from over 2500 publications such as journals, references books, and pamphlets. Also includes hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, as well as Topic Finder to visualize which words and subjects are found most frequently in the text of your search results.
Comprehensive evidence-based resources on drugs, medication management, toxicology, diseases, acute care, alternative medicine, and condition management. See "Download Center" (top of page) for mobile device instructions.
STAT!Ref (Teton Data Systems)
Searchable medical and allied health reference ebooks.
ANSI Z80-1, Z80-20; ASHRAE books, handbooks, guidelines and standards; ASTM fuel standards; international, state, and local building codes, guidelines and standards; and the SMACNA 1966 Duct Construction Standard.
How to get the Full Text of an Article through a FLITE database
Click on the "Ferris Full Text" link to find the full text for your citation. Depending on which FLITE database you are in, it might look different. Sign in for access as needed with your MyFSU login and password.
Full text options through FLITE
After clicking on 'Ferris Full Text', you often will see a screen with one or more options to access full text through FLITE. Choose one of the full text options to access the full text of your article through FLITE.
No Full Text option for your article through FLITE, now what?
FLITE cannot subscribe to every journal. If there are no full text options available through FLITE, try the 'Google Scholar' link first, then click on 'Interlibrary Loan' for document delivery.
If you clicked 'Interlibrary Loan' (after checking Google Scholar), you will be taken to the ILLiad (interlibrary loan) screen. Login with your username and password (not your MyFSU login and password). First time ILLiad users must register for an account before making requests.
More about ILLiad (interlibrary loan) article requests:
- You will receive an email when a PDF of the article your requested is available in your ILLiad account
- The article will be available in your ILLiad account for three weeks
- If you choose the 'Interlibrary loan' option to access full text while searching in a FLITE database, ILLiad's 'Article Request' form will prepopulate with citation information
- If you have citation information and FLITE did not have full text for your item, you can also make a request by logging directly into ILLiad and manually entering citation information into the 'Article Request' form