LibGuides: Optometry: Database Recommendations: Optometry Databases

Database Suggestions

Best Bets by Database Type:

Anatomy

Anatomy:

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
3D interactive models of human anatomy as well as media, x-rays, MRIs, animations, and live-action movies. Video clips can be downloaded for use in presentations.

Articles (Journal Literature)

Articles: Journal Literature

*Be sure to look at your source type. Beyond journals, some databases listed below may also have content from magazines, newspapers, dissertations, etc.

Top Picks:

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and ebooks that may link to full text content. Some articles, journals, and books are Open Access.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Searches over 8500 publications, including Optometric Education, Optometry Today, Optician, Optometry in Practice, Optometry Times, Ophthalmic Epidemiology, Ophthalmology Times, Ophthalmology Update, Optometry & Visual Performance & others of interest.
VisionCite This link opens in a new window
Citations for over 335,000 articles from 1984 to present on subjects such as optometry, ophthalmology, medical sciences, contact lenses, reading, learning disabilities, aging, perception, and practice management.
Contact FLITE for access

More Journal Literature Database Recommendations:

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 70 journals as well as legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. Also includes two million citations for over 2,900 journals from 1981 to present.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches numerous Gale databases, including health/medical databases, as well as other databases with a variety of subject-area coverage.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 3,400 sources and citations for over 5,500 sources including journals, reference books, and pamphlets. Also contains hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.

Drug Information

Drug Facts & Comparisons This link opens in a new window
Comparative charts and drug information for on-label and off-label use, affect on pregnancy and lactation, and risk mitigation. Also includes herbal information, boxed warnings, manufacturer index, medication guides, and immunization schedules. Drug reports searchable by adverse reaction, indication, and contraindication.

EyeMedsNow
Provides drug information for optometrists and ophthalmologists. Requires a free account. Includes 3 databases: Ophthalmic Drugs, OTC Tears, and Lid Hygiene

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive evidence-based resources on drugs, medication management, toxicology, diseases, acute care, alternative medicine, and condition management.
NatMed This link opens in a new window
Information with links to citations and full text articles on over 90,000 commercial natural products including product data, effectiveness, safety, drug interactions, and adverse effects.
Pharmacology World This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos to help you master the key concepts of pharmacology. Covers all major drug classes and includes: mechanism of action, key pharmacokinetics, major therapeutic uses, and common and serious adverse effects.
UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Drug and disease information including drug identification, drug dosing calculation, AHFS content, and patient education materials. Also includes Trissel’s IV compatibility, drug reports searchable by adverse reaction, indication, and contraindication, as well as MSDS and toxicology information.
Formerly named Lexicomp.

Ebooks

Ebooks: Great Sources for Background Information!

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database has the AAO Basic and Clinical Science Course Ebooks, so may be a best bet to search optometry topics.
Credo This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,000 reference titles such as subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also includes over 1,100 short reference videos and over 450,000 high-resolution art images, photographs and maps.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text books from a wide range of general and scholarly sources including University Presses and other top publishers.
STAT!Ref (Teton Data Systems) This link opens in a new window
Searchable medical and allied health reference books.

See more ebook databases:

Ebook Databases
by Ali Konieczny Last Updated Sep 10, 2024 47 views this year
Reference Resources: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
by Ali Konieczny Last Updated Sep 10, 2024 67 views this year

Patient-Oriented Information

Patient-Oriented Information:

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Freely available! Another database made available through the National Library of Medicine, this database has health information on over 1000 topics with information oriented toward patients.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from and citations for over 500 publications on health and wellness topics from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Consumer Health Information (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Detailed answers to the 200 most-commonly-asked health questions. Available in 17 languages. Answers are provided in evidence-based reports that feature graphics, illustrations, easy-to-read text and links to additional information.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 80 consumer health magazines, 130 reference books, and 1,000 pamphlets. Also includes 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports in English and Spanish.
STAT!Ref (Teton Data Systems) This link opens in a new window
**Note: To find patient-oriented information, first run your search, and then use the top filter to the left of the results that defaults to All Titles and change that filter to Patient Information.

Video

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos including thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases.
Ovid Gateway This link opens in a new window
Searches journals, books, and multimedia in scientific, medical, and healthcare disciplines including a large collection of videos available under the multimedia tab.

Explore More Databases

Databases A - Z Alphabetical list of FLITE's more than 100 databases.
Databases by Broad Subject Areas Business, Financial, & Legal; Education & Career; General & Multidisciplinary; Health & Medical; Humanities; Librarian Resources; News Service / Newspapers; Reference; Science & Technology; Social Sciences
Databases by Major: All listings within system
Databases by Major: COHP, MCO & Pharmacy Database recommendations for College of Pharmacy, College of Health Professions, and Michigan College of Optometry
Ebook Databases Find full ebooks or relevant chapters / book entries.
Reference: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries.... Need an encyclopedia entry or a definition? Try these databases.
Video Databases Streaming videos.

Research Guide

Optometry Research Guide
by Ali Konieczny Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 572 views this year

Health Sciences Librarian

Ali Konieczny

Contact:

Call (231) 591-3696
Offices: PHAR 202-H / COHP 415

Subjects: Clinical Laboratory Sciences, College of Health Professions, Dental Hygiene, Health Care System Administration, Health Info Tech / Health Info Mgmt, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Molecular Diagnostics, Nuclear Medicine, Nursing, Optometry, Pharmacy, Public Health, Radiography, Respiratory Care, Sonography