Databases by Broad Subject Areas

Full text articles from over 270 of the most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals from 1970 to present.

Digitized pages of over 1,500 American special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children’s and women’s magazines published between 1740 and 1940.

Digitized pages of over 500 newspapers from a variety of penal institutions including those focused on women.

Full text articles from over 275 journals and citations for over 960 journals. Coverage extends back to the early or mid-twentieth century for several core titles.

Full text articles from over 2000 international sources representing over 190 nations on issues, topics, and events critical to women's lives.

Full text reports from 1991 to present on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Seasoned journalists research and write each 12,000 word report, which includes three pro-con debates, a background and chronology on the topic, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.

Full text articles from 340 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990 to present. Also includes 300,000 full text articles from Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Of the total of 2.5 million articles over 625,000 articles (25%) are in Spanish.

Full text articles from over 400 journals and magazines focused on topics such as gender expression, identity, family, marriage, and sexuality from 1980 to present.

Digitized pages of over 4,500 publications from Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand from 1543-1945 on suffrage, feminism, and daily life in the English-speaking world.

News, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics from over 250 country profiles and over 680 issue pages.

Full text of over 250,000 resources on information and other forms of national security. Use the "In Focus" drop-down menu to browse by topic. Use the "Collections" drop-down menu and select "Research Tools" to find statistics.

Over 750,000 digitized pages from over 1,000 alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced from 1960-1980 by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, Latinos, and LGBT activists.

Full text of over 400 titles on the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present.

Full text of over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources including complete runs of over 2,600 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes over 60,000 DRM-free ebooks and over 2 million primary sources. Supports text mining/analysis and digital humanities research by providing datasets for journals, books, research reports, and pamphlets in the digital library.

To use the AI Research Tool, you must create a personal JSTOR account with your ferris.edu email address. They do not sell your data nor do they use it to train the LLM. Conversation transcripts can be downloaded, but you must do so within three hours. (They recommend downloading before leaving the item page.) The tool can also be cited as can its individual responses. 

Over 16 million full text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and reports on military history, defense strategy, and intelligence.

Over 20,000 viewpoints and 19,000 reference articles from all perspectives on the most controversial issues using a variety of sources including journals, primary sources, reference sources, biographies, images, videos, audio recordings, news, magazines, statistics, and websites. Browse by topic in categories such as business and economics, energy and environmentalism, health and medicine, law and politics, society and culture, science, technology, and ethics, and war and diplomacy.

Overviews of controversial topics including background or description of the issue, an argument, and a counter or opposing argument.

Full text articles from over 500 journals, 340 reference books, and 36,000 conference papers on topics such as political theory, international relations, comparative politics, and law. Also includes citations for over 1,700 journals on political science and related subjects.

Over 2 million full text articles from scholarly journals and magazines that analyze and contribute to popular culture. Topics include fashion, media, music, and social trends.

Full text articles and chapters from over 800 journals and over 100,000 books in the humanities and social sciences.

Textbooks, the DSM-V, journals, multimedia, and professional development tools from the American Psychiatric Association.

Full text articles from over 300 journals on many psychology and behavioral sciences topics with particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling. 

Full text articles, dissertations, and citations from journals published by the American or Canadian Psychological Association.

Artículos completos de más de 150 libros de referencia y 50 revistas de interés general, además de más de un millón de imágenes con subtítulos en español. Sitio web y artículos en español. Actualización diaria con contenido de Latinoamérica.

Full text articles from over 150 reference books and 50 general interest magazines as well as over 1 million images with Spanish captions. Website and articles in Spanish. Updated daily with content from Latin America.

Full text articles from over 1,100 journals, including over 200 open access ones, published by 400 society partners.

Reports on issues in critical IT, legal, and physical security, including case studies, best practices, and compliance guidance. Only results with an SMP icon can be accessed.

Full text articles and chapters from over 860 journals, 830 books, and 16,800 conference papers from 1908 to present. Also includes citations from over 3,200 active journals.

Digitized pages of thousands of fliers, pamphlets, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, bulletins, letters, press releases, and ephemera. Documents the range of student activism with all political viewpoints from conservative to anarchist represented.

To find newspapers, scroll down until you see the number of items. Then in the Refine Results menu under Primary source content, select Serials.

Millions of full text articles, biographies, primary source documents, and videos on American history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

Millions of full text articles and thousands of full text ebooks across disciplines including health, physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.