Databases by Broad Subject Areas

Full text articles from over 350 of the most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals from 1970 to present.

Digitized pages of over 1,240 American special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children’s and women’s magazines published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

Full text articles and chapters from over 600 journals and 220 books. Also includes over 63,000 images.

Part of JSTOR Images featuring over 3 million items from museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. Tools include the ability to download, print, share, and organize images in your own account. All content is rights-cleared for educational use.

Citations for articles on the history and practice of architecture, archaeology, architecture design, landscape architecture, city planning, furniture and decoration, historic preservation, and interior design.

Citations for 20 million biographical sketches on over 6 million people from all time periods, places, and areas of study. Includes names, birth and death dates, and references to books containing biographical material on that person.

Full text biographical entries on over 640,000 people from all time periods and areas of study including videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. Search by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.

Over 460,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.

Over 5.6 million book reviews on over 2.5 million titles. Search by title, author, date, illustrator, audiobook reader, review length, reading level, review source, review type, reviewer, and title of review.

Full text articles from over 730 Caribbean focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and reference books.

Full text articles from over 400 central and eastern European focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and reference books.

Full text articles from over 450 journals and citations for over 750 journals. Coverage extends back to the early or mid-twentieth century for several core titles. Also includes over 5,400 author profiles for the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently published authors.

Full text articles from over 2000 international sources representing over 190 nations on issues, topics, and events critical to women's lives.

Full text reports from 1991 to present on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Seasoned journalists research and write each 12,000 word report, which includes three pro-con debates, a background and chronology on the topic, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.

Manuscript, printed, and visual primary source documents on the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences from 1500 to 2000. Includes manuscripts, rare printed materials, letterbooks, periodicals, diaries, and photographs accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, interactive maps, and an interactive chronology.

Full text articles from 340 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990 to present. Also includes 300,000 full text articles from Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Of the total of 2.5 million articles over 625,000 articles (25%) are in Spanish.

Digitized pages of over 4,000 publications from Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand from 1543-1945 on suffrage, feminism, and daily life in the English-speaking world.

Manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organizations around the world depicting the history of fifteen major commodities and examining the ways that they have changed the world. Commodities include chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.

News, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics from over 250 country topic pages and over 450 topic and issue pages.

Digitized pages of every issue of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper, from 1857 to 1912.

Full text articles from over 1,400 journals and citations for over 3.5 million articles, including art and book reviews.

Digitized pages of over 19,000 issues of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced during the latter half of the 20th century by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press.

Full text of over 400 titles on the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Also includes over 1,600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews.

Full text of over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources including complete runs of over 2,600 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes over 60,000 DRM-free ebooks and over 2 million primary sources. Supports text mining/analysis and digital humanities research by providing datasets for journals, books, research reports, and pamphlets in the digital library.

Full text of over 460 literary journals featuring information on over 140,000 authors from many genres and periods. Also includes plot summaries, literary criticism, book reviews, poems, short stories, author interviews, and classic texts.

Citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles, and dissertations from 1926 to present linked to full text where available. Also includes biographical information, overview essays, full text literary criticism, and reviews on over 130,000 writers including authors and illustrators of children's and young adult literature. Also contains over 5.6 million book reviews, over 150,000 full text poems, over 800,000 poetry citations as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.

Full text articles from over 600 journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs.

Billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos, and other genealogical resources from thousands of databases. Access restricted to current Michigan residents.

Viewpoints from all perspectives on the most controversial issues using a variety of sources including journals, primary sources, reference sources, biographies, images, videos, audio recordings, news, magazines, statistics, and websites. Browseable by topic in categories such as business and economics, energy and environmentalism, health and medicine, law and politics, society and culture, science, technology, and ethics, and war and diplomacy.

Full text of over 630,000 poems, 43,000 short stories, and 10,000 plays. Also includes over 2,300 audio recordings.

Overviews of controversial topics including background or description of the issue, an argument, and a counter or opposing argument.

Full text articles from over 520 journals and citations for over 2,900 journals on political science and related subjects. Also includes over 340 political science reference and other books.

Full text articles from over 190 journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Full text articles from over 70 popular, elementary school magazines from 1990 to present. Each article has a Lexile reading indicator. Also includes citations for an additional 100 magazines.

Full text articles and chapters from over 800 journals and over 90,000 books from 1995 to present. Also includes 5,000 open access books.

Videos of over 56,000 testimonies from survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides including the Nanjing Massacre, the Tutsi in Rwanda, and others. All recordings have digitized transcripts and are searchable to the minute.

Full text articles and chapters from over 670 journals and reference books including hundreds of thousands of topic and event overviews.

Full text articles and chapters from over 1,600 journals and over 21,000 books on over 120 academic subjects.

Full text articles and chapters from over 750 journals and reference books including hundreds of thousands of topic and event overviews.