Radiography Research Guide: Full Text Linking

Only finding an abstract or citation for an article when searching within databases?  No worries, just look for the following linking options when you're in a database:

• Ferris FullText
• Ferris Full Text
• Access options
• Get full text

Below are screenshots of the full text linking options you may encounter:

Ferris Full Text: Expect this option in many databases, including PubMed and databases from the vendor Gale. 

Screenshot from a Gale database showing the Ferris Full Text link:

Access options: Expect to see this in EBSCO databases. Expand the Access options pull-down menu to see full text linking options, as shown in the screenshot below.

Get full text: Expect to see this in ProQuest databases, as depicted in the screenshot below.

PubMed:

• In PubMed you must click on the article title to go into the full record, and then you'll see the Ferris FullText option on the right-hand side of the record.
• LOOK OUT! Often a publisher's link will display in addition to the Ferris FullText link. If the publisher's link is stamped free or open access, click on it; otherwise use the Ferris FullText link so you're not asked to purchase the article by the publisher! 
• Never pay for an article as a Ferris student! We either subscribe to the journal, or can request the needed article (or book, book chapter, etc.) via Interlibrary Loan. Learn more about Interlibrary Loan by continuing down this page.

After clicking on the linking option (Ferris Full Text, Get full text, Access options), you may be taken to different options. Below are some examples and how to proceed.

1) Read Article or Download PDF: Click on either option to go directly to the article's full text. Automatically download the article and save it!

2) Available online through the Library's linking system:

• Under View Online click on a link under Full text availability to link out to the desired resource.

• Often there are multiple linking options under View Online. Pick any link, and if for some reason the first link doesn't work, try another one (and please report the broken link)

3) Available through Google Scholar or Interlibrary Loan:  The library can't subscribe to every journal, but try Google Scholar to see if the article has been posted online, and if not, you can use Interlibrary Loan to request an online copy of the article (Interlibrary Loan is free!).  You'll first be prompted to login with your FSU credentials to check for full text availability:

Next, try Google Scholar, and if that doesn't work for full text, you can use Interlibrary Loan!

If links are broken, please report broken links so we can fix them!  Please continue to the section below to learn how to use Interlibrary Loan.

The Ferris Library, FLITE, cannot subscribe to every journal available. If there is no Full Text option available after clicking on Find It:

On-Campus Students: If after clicking on Find It you see Holding Information, select this option to see the library's holdings, and come over to FLITE to obtain the article.  If only ILL (Interlibrary Loan) is available, select this option and follow the instructions below.

Off-Campus Students:  If after clicking on Find It you see only Holding Information and Interlibrary Loan, you are not expected to come to the library to retrieve locally held articles (Holding Information option).  Instead, select the GO button by ILL (Interlibrary Loan) and follow the instructions below.

Interlibrary Loan Instructions:

1. If you have never used Interlibrary Loan (ILL) before, you must first set up an account.  Please do the following:  

• Go to the following link: http://illiad.ferris.edu/illiad/FirstTime.html
• Go through the screen, and at the bottom click on First Time Users Click Here.
• Fill out every field with an asterisk, then hit Submit Information, and you've created your own personal ILL account.
• *Please note, the ILL username and password is simply anything that you can remember, so you don't have to get too fancy.

Once you have an ILL account created, the Find It link makes it simple to request desired articles via interlibrary loan.

1. Click on the GO button by ILL (Interlibrary Loan)
2. You'll be taken to the screen to login to your personal interlibrary loan account
3. Once logged in, you'll notice all of the article information has been filled in, simply scroll to the bottom of the screen and hit Submit Request.
4. Your article request will be processed, and when the article is secured, it will be posted online in your account.  You will receive an e-mail notice from the library that your article is available.  The e-mail contains a link to login to your ILL account.  Once logged in, select View, and then select Articles Received. 
5. Your article will be in PDF format, and you can print or save the article.  Please print or save the article soon after receiving notice of its availability - articles are removed from your account after 3 weeks for copyright reasons.