Radiography Research Guide: E-Books

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1755008 Now in its third edition, Anatomy in Diagnostic Imaging is an unrivalled atlas of anatomy applied to diagnostic imaging. The book covers the entire human body and employs all the imaging modalities used in clinical practice; x-ray, CT, MR, PET, ultrasound and scintigraphy.......

As the ideal introductory textbook for medical students, junior doctors, trainee radiologists, and practising clinicians, this new edition of Diagnostic Imaging explains the principles of interpretation of all forms of imaging, offering a balanced account of all the modalities available, explaining each technique and when to use it. Organised by body system and covering all anatomical regions, Armstrong, Wastie and Rockall: explain how to interpret images provide guidelines for interpreting images discuss common diseases and the signs that can be seen using each imaging modality illustrate clinical problems with normal and abnormal images assist diagnosis by covering normal images as well as those for specific disorders show all imaging modalities used in a clinical context The authors cover use of plain film, ultrasound, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, radionuclide imaging and interventional radiology, with high quality illustrations and images. What's new for the 6th edition? Additional new sections and expanded sections, following reviewer feedback Updated throughout to ensure recommendations and illustrations reflect modern ultrasound CT, MRI, and nuclear medicine (including PET) practice Key points and bullet points to aid learning

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4717692 Authored by a leading educator, this book teaches the fundamental mathematics and physics concepts associated with medical imaging systems. Going beyond mere description of imaging modalities, this book delves into the mechanisms of image formation and image quality common to all imaging systems: contrast mechanisms, noise, and spatial and temporal resolution, making it an important reference for medical physicists and biomedical engineering students. This is an extensively revised new edition of The Physics of Medical X-Ray Imaging by Bruce Hasegawa (Medical Physics Publishing, 1991), and includes a wide range of modalities such as X-ray CT, MRI and SPECT.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5693422 An up-to-date edition of the authoritative text on the physics of medical imaging, written in an accessible format The extensively revised fifth edition of Hendee's Medical Imaging Physics, offers a guide to the principles, technologies, and procedures of medical imaging. Comprehensive in scope, the text contains coverage of all aspects of image formation in modern medical imaging modalities including radiography, fluoroscopy, computed tomography, nuclear imaging, magnetic resonance imaging, and ultrasound. Since the publication of the fourth edition, there have been major advances in the techniques and instrumentation used in the ever-changing field of medical imaging. The fifth edition offers a comprehensive reflection of these advances including digital projection imaging techniques, nuclear imaging technologies, new CT and MR imaging methods, and ultrasound applications.....

This gorgeous, full-color atlas and case-book presents more than sixty cases with over one hundred associated, super high-quality clinical images that a physician needs to be able to rapidly recognize and know for accurate, expedient diagnosis and treatment. The images are presented with the patients brief medical history, followed by the diagnosis, brief discussion of the diagnosis, and the patients clinical course and treatment. These miniature case studies encompass photos and descriptions of patients, supporting physical findings, X-rays, CT scans, electrocardiograms, blood smears, gross pathologic specimens, and microscopic pathology slides.

The Index of Medical Imaging is the must-have companion for diagnostic radiography students and newly qualified imaging practitioners, designed to allow easy access to descriptions and discussions of many aspects of medical imaging such as radiographic projections, positioning, procedures and clinical examinations. The Index consists of multiple lists, tables and discussions linked to (amongst others) radiography, CT, MRI and components such as radiological contrast agents, responses to contrast reactions, MRI safety. There is a glossary of terms and definitions plus a list of abbreviations that may be encountered within radiology. Tables are given that suggest the order and type of examination that should be performed as defined by the UK Royal College of Radiologists.

A dynamic, all-inclusive overview of the field of health physics If its an important topic in the field of health physics, youll find it in this trusted text . . . in sections on physical principles, atomic and nuclear structure, radioactivity, biological effects of radiation, and instrumentation. This one-of-a-kind guide spans the entire scope of the field and offers a problem-solving approach that will serve you throughout your career. Features: A thorough overview of need-to-know topics, from a review of physical principles to a useful look at the interaction of radiation with matter Chapter-ending practice problems to solidify your grasp of health physics topics and their real-world application Essential background material on quantitative risk assessment for health-threatening radiation dangers Authoritative radiation safety and environmental health coverage that supports the International Commission on Radiological Protections standards for specific populations High-yield appendices to expand your comprehension of chapter material: Values of Some Useful Constants, Table of the Elements, The Reference Person, Specific Absorbed Fraction of Photon Energy, and Total Mass Attenuation Coefficients NEW Essential coverage of non-ionizing radiation-laser and microwaves, computer use in dose calculation, and dose limit recommendations

Course-friendly link: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4880105 Medical Physics covers the applied branch of physics concerned with the application of concepts and methods of physics to diagnostics and therapeutics of human diseases. The first part, Physical and Physiological Aspects of the Body, covers those body systems that have a strong physical component, such as body mechanics, energy household, action potential, signal transmission in neurons, respiratory and circulatory system as well as visual and sound perception. The second part of this volume, Imaging Modalities without Ionizing Radiation, introduces sonography, endoscopy, and magnetic resonance imaging......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4895045 Medical Physics covers the applied branch of physics concerned with the application of concepts and methods of physics to diagnostics and therapeutics of human diseases. This second volume in a series of two complements the imaging modalities presented in the first volume by those methods, which use ionizing radiation. The first chapters in part A on Radiography provide a solid background on radiation sources, interaction of radiation with matter, and dosimetry for the safe handling of radiation before introducing x-ray radiography, scintigraphy, SPECT and PET. The second part B on Radiotherapy starts from basic information on the life cycle of cells, radiation response of healthy and tumorous cells. In subsequent chapters the main methods of radiation treatment are presented, in particular x-ray radiotherapy, proton and neutron radiation therapy, and brachytherapy. The last part C, Diagnostics and Therapeutics beyond Radiology, covers laser applications, multifunctional nanoparticles and prosthetics......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5228957 Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Zero in on a key aspect of radiology with Quality and Safety in Medical Imaging: The Essentials ! Ideal as an efficient learning tool for residents as well as a quick refresher for experienced radiologists, this practical reference covers every essential feature of this important field, putting indispensable information at your fingertips in a compact, high-yield format. You'll be brought up to date on radiation dose and safety, patient satisfaction, monitoring and reporting of complications, quality and safety in breast imaging, evidence-based radiology, quality dashboards, quality and safety in nuclear medicine, and much more.....

"Diagnostic Imaging principles and concepts are augmented by the presentation of images for common clinical conditions. Guiding principles related to minimizing radiation exposure and requesting the most appropriate imaging examination are addressed.Static images are enhanced by the ability to access images stored and displayed on an Html-5 compatible, Dicom image viewer that simulates a simple Picture Archive and Communication system (PACS)."

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5607402 This book presents an up to date ethical framework for radiological protection in medicine. It is consistent with the requirements of the system of radiation protection and with the expectations of medical ethics. It presents an approach rooted in the medical tradition, and alert to contemporary social expectations. It provides readers with a practical framework against which they can assess the safety and acceptability of medical procedures, including patients' concerns. It will be an invaluable reference for radiologists, radiation oncologists, regulators, medical physicists, technologists, other practitioners, as well as academics, researchers and students of radiation protection in medicine....

It has become magic that we take for granted-the ability to look inside the human body, to watch systems function, to diagnose illness, or see one's first baby in utero. Yet the World Health Organization estimates that two-thirds of the world's population do not have access even to basic radiology or ultrasound facilities.

What better way to remember the branches of the facial nerve than the mnemonic Two Zebras Borrowed My Car! This is just one of the many mnemonics included by the author to help you remember facts you may need in your exams and medical career; see inside for the alternative version considered too risqué to print on the cover...A new edition of this fun pocket-sized guide featuring mnemonics and study tips to help you retain those all-important medical facts! an essential read for every medical student Mnemonics and Study Tips for Medical Students will also be invaluable to students of pharmacy, nursing and allied health subjects.

Award Winner, RSNA 2009! This lavishly illustrated book uses high-quality images to present a practical guide to the physics of magnetic resonance. Written by internationally renowned authors, the book places an emphasis on learning visually through images of real cases rather than through mathematical equations and provides the fundamental information needed to achieve the best images in everyday clinical practice. This edition features new images and incorporates information on the latest technical advances in the field, discussing such important topics as 3 T, specific absorption rate (SAR), arterial spin labeling, continuous moving table MR, and time-resolved contrast enhanced MR angiography. Highlights: Concise chapters make difficult concepts easy to digest 400 high-quality images and illustrations demonstrate key concepts This book is a valuable reference for radiologists and an excellent resource for residents preparing for board examinations. It is also ideal for MR technologists and students seeking to fully understand the basic principles underlying this important diagnostic tool.

This book provides comprehensive and easy-to-follow coverage of the principles and application of physics for both diagnostic and therapeutic radiography students. Regardless of changes in technology and clinical grading, the most important role of the radiographer remains unchanged - ensuring the production of high quality images and optimal treatment. These should be performed with the minimum of radiation hazard to the patient, the radiographers themselves and others whose presence is a necessary part of the examination or treatment. An understanding of physics and the basics of radiographic technology is essential to do this effectively. The book covers all the physics and mathematics required by undergraduate diagnostic and therapeutic radiography students studying for a BSc (Hons), catering for those who do not have A-level mathematics as well as for those who do. This edition focusses more upon application of physics than pure physics, reflecting current teaching approaches. This has resulted in a major overhaul of the book onto two parts - Principles and Application. The new edition has an updated 2-colour design and new Sections on Equipment for X-ray production, The Radiographic Image and Diagnostic Imaging Technologies. The textbook is supported by electronic learning resources for students, hosted on EVOLVE. Student resources Self-assessment questions *Strong links between theory and practice throughout *Clear and concise text Focus on application of physics, as well as principles New, updated 2-colour design New Sections - Equipment for X-ray production, The Radiographic Image and Diagnostic Imaging Technologies Electronic learning resources for students support the text

Course-friendly link: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4182925 Radiation Protection in Medical Imaging and Radiation Oncology focuses on the professional, operational, and regulatory aspects of radiation protection. Advances in radiation medicine have resulted in new modalities and procedures, some of which have significant potential to cause serious harm. Examples include radiologic procedures that require very long fluoroscopy times, radiolabeled monoclonal antibodies, and intravascular brachytherapy. This book summarizes evidence supporting changes in consensus recommendations, regulations, and health physics practices associated with these recent advances in radiology, nuclear medicine, and radiation oncology. It supports intelligent and practical methods for protection of personnel, the public, and patients. The book is based on current recommendations by the International Commission on Radiological Protection and is complemented by detailed practical sections and professional discussions by the world's leading medical and health physics professionals. It also includes substantial information on international aspects of radiation protection, with sections covering Africa, Asia and Oceania, the European Union, the Middle East, and North and Latin America.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=557572 The atomic bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki in August of 1945 unleashed a force as mysterious as it was deadly—radioactivity. In 1946, the United States government created the Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission (ABCC) to serve as a permanent agency in Japan with the official mission of studying the medical effects of radiation on the survivors. The next ten years saw the ABCC's most intensive research on the genetic effects of radiation, and up until 1974 the ABCC scientists published papers on the effects of radiation on aging, life span, fertility, and disease......

Course-friendly link:
https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-662-57742-4 This new atlas, the fourth of a successful series, is a completely revised and updated edition of a previously published FDG PET-CT atlas. In the past few years, considerable progress has been made in the field of PET-CT imaging, and this new edition takes full account of these recent developments. Furthermore, its educational mission has been broadened: beyond serving as a straightforward guide to FDG PET-CT imaging it now encompasses the integrative use of contrast-enhanced CT and MRI.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=2013143&site=ehost-live Concise, readable, and engaging, MRI: The Basics, 4th Edition, offers an excellent introduction to the physics behind MR imaging. Clinically relevant coverage includes everything from basic principles and key math concepts to more advanced topics, including the latest MR techniques and optimum image creation....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5434805 An ideal resource for the classroom or clinical setting, Sectional Anatomy for Imaging Professionals, 4th Edition provides a comprehensive, and highly visual approach to the sectional anatomy of the entire body. Side-by-side presentations of actual diagnostic images from both MRI and CT modalities and corresponding anatomic line drawings illustrate the planes of anatomy most commonly demonstrated by diagnostic imaging....