Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Radiography Research Guide: Finding Articles

Why Bother with Library Databases?

why?

Everson, B. (2012). Why? [photo]. CC. Retrieved from http://www.flickr.com/photos/editor/6698208975/

1. Most of what you find on Google isn't scholarly.

2. When you do find something scholarly on Google, the site often asks you to pay for it.

3. You should never have to pay for content.  That's what the library is for!

Full Text Linking

When an article isn't immediately available in full text, you will need to use the Find It linklink to try to link to full text.  A video tutorial on using the Find It link link can be viewed by clicking here.  For more information on using the Find It linklink, please see the Full text linking help page.

Top Pick Databases

Learn about using Library Basicsto link out to full text from these databases

CINAHL: This database, the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health, draws information from more than 3000 journals.  In order to link to the full text of articles, use the Find It link.

Academic Onefile or General Onefile: These databases are huge and useful for finding information on almost any topic.  Information is coming from journals, magazines, books, newspapers, videos, and podcasts.  If an article is not automatically in full text, use the Find It link to try to link out to full text.

PubMed: This is the largest biomedical database, and is cross-searching over 5000 journals that have been selected by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).  With these journals being selected by NLM for inclusion in PubMed, you can consider the content to be scholarly. In order to link to the full text of articles: 1)  Click into the article record   2)  Use the Find It link.

Health & Wellness Resource Center: This database by default, searches medical encyclopedias and patient information resources, providing very nice succinct information on conditions and tests, but also searches journals, magazines, pamphlets, videos, newspapers.

Selecting a Database to Search for Reliable Information

Selecting a Database:

On the list of databases, certain databases will have the following icon next to them:

The "i" icon will link you to a database tutorial.  Databases with an "i" icon tend to be the more heavily used databases.

Health & Medical Database List

health and medical databases list

  • CINAHL is the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health and is cross-searching nearly 3000 journals
  • Health & Wellness Resource Center provides patient-oriented materials, as well as information coming from journals, videos, pamphlets, and newspapers
  • PubMed is the largest biomedical database, and is cross searching over 5500 journals
  • STAT!Ref cross-searches the contents of more than 30 medical reference books

What is a Database?

What is a database?? A database is "A collection of information organized in such a way that a computer program can quickly select desired pieces of data. You can think of a database as an electronic filing system."

So, if you want to find information on a certain topic, such as respiratory care, you can do a keyword search to find the related files.

You likely use databases all of the time, such as Google, or online shopping websites, but don't even realize that a database is what you're using.

To get to Health & Medical databases, use the following path:
Library's Homepage > Find button >Articles > Health & Medical Resources > *Select Desired Database