LibGuides: Health Care Systems Administration Research Guide: Finding Books

Find Books at FLITE

Search for print and e-books:

Print or Ebook Selection.

Books/eBooks will be selected by default when using the above search box
Once you've run your search, you can use the left-hand filters to select only print or ebooks..
Under Availability select Full Text Online for ebooks only. Select At the Library for print books only.
To link to ebooks select Full text available.

HCSA Books at FLITE

Daily Reflections for Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey
Call Number: BF637.S4 C69 1994
ISBN: 0671887173
Publication Date: 1994
Make the 7 habits a part of your life -- every day. Stephen R. Covey has helped millions of readers attain professional success and personal fulfillment. With penetrating insight Dr. Covey reveals a pathway for living with fairness, integrity, honesty, and human dignity -- principles that give us the security to adapt to change and the wisdom and power to take advantage of the opportunities that change creates. Now, as a succinct introduction to Dr. Covey's revolutionary thinking or as a reminder of key principles, Daily Reflections for Highly Effective People provides an inspirational recharge that will bring you closer to a holistic sense of personal effectiveness and purpose.

There are too many books to include all of them on a single page. For listings of more books of potential interest, search the online catalog, or please see books in the subject areas below:

Disease, Diagnoses, and Dollars : facing the ever-expanding market for medical care by Robert M. Kaplan
Call Number: RA410 .K36 2009
ISBN: 0387740449
Publication Date: 2009-03-03
Here's a conundrum: the U.S. health care system is the largest sector in the biggest economy in the world, and the US spends significantly more per capita on health care than any other country. Yet it ranks last among comparison nations on the major health indicators. Robert Kaplan attempts to tackle these anomalies head-on by taking the controversial position that mass markets have been created for services that may offer little or no benefit to patients. Kaplan forcefully argues that the overuse of medications and tests runs up the costs of health care, and offers potential solutions for policy makers and for patients.
Drive : the surprising truth about what motivates us by Daniel H. Pink
Call Number: BF503 .P475 2011
ISBN: 9781594484803
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
The New York Times bestseller that gives readers a paradigm shattering new way to think about motivation. Most people believe that the best way to motivate is with rewards like money the carrot-and-stick approach. That's a mistake, says Daniel H. Pink (author o fTo Sell Is Human: The Surprising Truth About Motivating Others). In this provocative and persuasive new book, he asserts that the secret to high performance and satisfaction-at work, at school, and at home is the deeply human need to direct our own lives, to learn and create new things, and to do better by ourselves and our world. Drawing on four decades of scientific research on human motivation, Pink exposes the mismatch between what science knows and what business does#151;and how that affects every aspect of life. He examines the three elements of true motivation- autonomy, mastery, and purpose-and offers smart and surprising techniques for putting these into action in a unique book that will change how we think and transform how we live.
Effective Management of Long Term Care Facilities, 2e by Douglas A. Singh
Call Number: RA999.A35 S56 2010
ISBN: 9780763774035
Publication Date: 2010
Effective Management of Long-Term Care Facilities explores the complex operations of the long-term care facility and offers critical skills to current and future nursing home administrators for delivering quality, cost-effective services. The Second Editi
Essential Techniques for Healthcare Managers by Leigh W. Cellucci; Carla Wiggins
Call Number: RA971 .C43 2010
ISBN: 9781567933352
Publication Date: 2010

Find Print Books, CDs, DVDs, etc. from most Michigan Libraries! Michigan eLibrary (MeL)

MeL (Michigan eLibrary)
"MeL is the Michigan eLibrary, a 24/7 online library for Michigan residents."

The Michigan eLibrary provides "all Michigan residents with free access to online full-text articles, full-text books" and more! Through MeLCat, Michigan residents/students can have books from participating libraries throughout the state sent to their participating local or school library.

MeLCat
Michigan Residents: Request Books, Videos, and other Materials to have them sent to your local public library for pick-up and return through MeL's online catalog, MeLCat.

To login to MeLCat and request an item to be sent to FLITE:

After running a MeLCat search, select an item that is "Available"
Click on "Get This For Me"
Select Ferris State University from the drop down menu
Enter your MyFSU username and password
Request Selected Item, and the screen should indicate that your request was successfully submitted
You'll receive an email when your item has arrived at FLITE. Go to the Check Out Desk to retrieve your item.

Other things available through the Michigan eLibrary include:

MeL Databases
Databases made freely available to MI residents by MeL.
MeL Health Portal
MeL Portals allow you to limit yourself to health, business, and other areas.
MeL Help
Get help to use MeL resources more efficiently and effectively.

Michigan eLibrary (MeL)

"MeL is the Michigan eLibrary, a 24/7 online library for Michigan residents." Through MeL you can:

Search Databases
Request Books, Videos, and other Materials to have them sent to your local public library for pick-up and return
Use Subject Gateways to be directed to materials related to Business & Jobs, Health & Wellness, Legal, and more.

MeL Videos are available to Learn More about:

Print HCSA Books at the Library

Advanced Performance Improvement in Health Care : Principles and Methods by Donald Lighter
Call Number: RA399.A3 L485 2011
ISBN: 9780763764494
Publication Date: 2011
Advanced Principles and Methods for Performance Improvement explores the many recent advances in the application of quality improvement approaches in the healthcare industry. It includes a discussion of the underlying forces for change in healthcare organ

There are many useful print and e-books at the library. Below are several selected books. To find more books, search the online catalog. Also see the more comprehensive listing of HCSA books.

As We Speak : How to make your point and have it stick by Peter Meyers; Shann Nix
Call Number: HM1166 .M49 2011
ISBN: 9781439153055
Publication Date: 2011
Two of the world’s most sought-after consultants present a revolutionary, empowering guide to public speaking and becoming a more effective, persuasive communicator in all areas of life. Even for the most accomplished, public speaking can be a nerve-racking ordeal. Whether it’s speaking to a large audience, within a group, or in a one-on-one conversation, the way in which we communicate ideas, as much as the ideas themselves, can determine success or failure. With a client roster that includes NestlÉ, Cisco Systems, Hewlett Packard, ING, and PG&E, Peter Meyers—a former actor and theater director and the founder of Stand & Deliver consulting group—and former radio host Shann Nix have honed a comprehensive approach for tackling the underlying obstacles that almost everyone experiences when faced with speaking in public. At the core of As We Speak lies a simple, three-step approach that addresses content, delivery, and state of mind. Meyers and Nix take readers through every aspect of high-performance communication, from using your hands, eyes, voice, and body effectively to creating a clear structure of ideas that gives listeners a memorable experience. They also reveal how their principles can be used to improve communication with family and friends, even when it comes to important or awkward conversations. Forthright, supportive, and laden with extras—from tips to communicating by email to downloadable audio exercises— As We Speak will help readers find their voice, and make it heard.
Career Opportunities in Health Care Management by Sharon B. Buchbinder; Jon M. Thompson
Call Number: RA971 .B893 2010
ISBN: 9780763759643
Publication Date: 2010
Introduction to Health Care Management is a concise, reader- friendly, introductory healthcare management book that covers a wide variety of healthcare settings, from hospitals to nursing homes and clinics. Filled with examples to engage the reader's imag
Cases in Health Services Management, 5e by Jonathon S. Rakich; Beaufort B. Longest; Kurt Darr
Call Number: RA971 .C34 2010
ISBN: 9781932529593
Publication Date: 2010
Health services management students need more preparation than ever to solve the problems they will confront in the increasingly complex health services environment. Cases in Health Services Management, Fifth Edition, presents 28 challenging cases (10 new to this edition) that address pivotal issues students will encounter as administrators and managers: quality improvement, strategic planning, ethical dilemmas, organizational dynamics, cost-benefit analyses, resource utilization, and more.
Change Management Strategies for an Effective EMR Implementation by Claire McCarthy; Douglas Eastman; David Garets (Contribution by)
Call Number: R864 .M333 2010
ISBN: 9780982107065
Publication Date: 2010
Despite the promise of improving care and other benefits, EMR implementations are highly disruptive to the organization. This book prepares you to lead or participate successfully in change management/technology adoption efforts, so that meaningful use of EMRs can be achieved. The authors provide successful strategies to plan and implement change. The content is based on their decades of combined experience managing the people side of implementation. The book covers the importance of making a business case for change management, explaining why technology implementations will not deliver benefits without significant focus on users. It describes two critical success factors in any large-scale change management efforts--a clear vision and effective leadership. Sections of the book deal with establishing a foundation for change; building commitment; and developing requisite skills in change management. The book includes numerous lessons learned, tips for success, best practices and case studies from organizations that have handled change well.
Comparative Health Systems: Global Perspectives by James A. Johnson; Carleen Stoskopf; James Johnson
Call Number: RA441 .C663 2010
ISBN: 9780763753795
Publication Date: 2010
In an increasingly interconnected and interdependent world comprised of wide variations in health delivery systems, practices, and policy, this book offers students a clear understanding of such systems through comparative study and the potential for a better informed global mindset that fosters sustainable cross-country solutions to current and impending disease and health crises.
Conflicts of Conscience in Health Care by Holly Fernandez Lynch
Call Number: R727.36 .L96 2008
ISBN: 9780262515054
Publication Date: 2008
Physicians in the United States who refuse to perform a variety of legally permissible medical services because of their own moral objections are often protected by "conscience clauses." These laws, on the books in nearly every state since the legalization of abortion by Roe v. Wade, shield physicians and other health professionals from such potential consequences of refusal as liability and dismissal. While some praise conscience clauses as protecting important freedoms, opponents, concerned with patient access to care, argue that professional refusals should be tolerated only when they are based on valid medical grounds. In Conflicts of Conscience in Health Care, Holly Fernandez Lynch finds a way around the polarizing rhetoric associated with this issue by proposing a compromise that protects both a patient's access to care and a physician's ability to refuse.