Sonography: Database Recommendations

3D interactive models of human anatomy as well as quizzes, x-rays, MRI scans, animations, and clinical case studies. Video clips can be downloaded for use in presentations.

DITKI, by Draw It to Know It, features a multi-media course on anatomy and physiology as well as two others to prepare for the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) and the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examination (COMLEX).

*Top Pick! CINAHL, The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is cross-searching approximately 3000 journals, including: Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography; Ultrasound Quarterly; Ultrasound; Journal of Medical Imaging & Radiation Sciences; Seminars In Ultrasound CT & MRI; Journal For Vascular Ultrasound; and more.

Searches one, several, or all of the Gale databases simultaneously.

Full text articles from over 2,500 sources including journals, reference books, and pamphlets. Also contains hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and surgeries.

Over 11.5 million full text articles from medical journals and health magazines as well as reference sources, streaming video, audio, and images on health-related issues. Also includes Spanish editions of notable content, translation tools, and a Spanish search filter.

*Top Pick! This is the largest biomedical database, made freely available by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), that is cross-searching approximately 5000 journals, including: Abdominal Imaging; Journal of Clinical Ultrasound : JCU; Seminars in ultrasound, CT, and MR; Ultrasonic Imaging; Ultrasound in Obstetrics & Gynecology; Ultrasound Quarterly; Ultrasound in Medicine & Biology; and more.

Full text articles from 1,000 reference titles such as subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also includes over 1,100 short reference videos and over 450,000 high-resolution art images, photographs and maps.

Ebooks from general and scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers, on numerous subjects, including various health & medical areas. Each ebook includes tools for creating citations, note-taking, highlighting, and bookmarking.

Ebooks from numerous subject areas, including various health & medical areas.

*To see only ebook content, be sure to select Reference.

Searchable medical and allied health reference books.

Freely available! Another database made available through the National Library of Medicine, this database has health information on over 1000 topics with information oriented toward patients.

Full text articles from 274 journals plus over 3,700 evidence-based health reports, and 480 reference books covering mainstream and alternative medicine. Some content in Spanish.

Full text articles from 80 consumer health magazines, 100 reference books, and current health pamphlets. 

**Note: To find patient-oriented information, first run your search, and then use the top filter to the left of the results that defaults to All Titles and change that filter to Patient Information.