LibGuides: Public Health: Database Recommendations: Public Health Databases

Database Suggestions

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
3D interactive models of human anatomy as well as media, x-rays, MRIs, animations, and live-action movies. Video clips can be downloaded for use in presentations.

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, draws information from more than 3000 journals, including publications within public health and others covering various topics relevant to public health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This is the largest biomedical database, made freely available by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), which is cross-searching over 5000 journals, including many relevant to Public Health.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches numerous Gale databases, including health/medical databases, as well as other databases with a variety of subject-area coverage.
MiTracking This link opens in a new window
Michigan environmental and public health data compiled by the Department of Health and Human Services. Instructions available

ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 3,000 business, marketing, and management journals from 1984 to present.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text articles and chapters from over 4,700 journals and over 34,000 books from 1995 to present.

Health Evidence
"Search healthevidence.org for access to 7,975 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data. We search the published literature and compile public health relevant reviews -- eliminating your need to search and screen individual databases."
Health Systems Evidence
"Health Systems Evidence is a continuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems, and about implementation strategies that can support change in health systems. The types of syntheses include evidence briefs for policy, overviews of systematic reviews, systematic reviews, systematic reviews in progress (i.e. protocols for systematic reviews), and systematic reviews being planned (i.e. registered titles for systematic reviews)"

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Freely available! Another database made available through the National Library of Medicine, this database has health information on over 1000 topics with information oriented toward patients.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from and citations for over 500 publications on health and wellness topics from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Consumer Health Information (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Detailed answers to the 200 most-commonly-asked health questions. Available in 17 languages. Answers are provided in evidence-based reports that feature graphics, illustrations, easy-to-read text and links to additional information.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 80 consumer health magazines, 130 reference books, and 1,000 pamphlets. Also includes 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports in English and Spanish.
STAT!Ref (Teton Data Systems) This link opens in a new window
**Note: To find patient-oriented information, first run your search, and then use the top filter to the left of the results that defaults to All Titles and change that filter to Patient Information.

Databases A - Z Alphabetical list of FLITE's more than 100 databases.
Databases by Broad Subject Areas Business, Financial, & Legal; Education & Career; General & Multidisciplinary; Health & Medical; Humanities; Librarian Resources; News Service / Newspapers; Reference; Science & Technology; Social Sciences
Databases by Major: All listings within system
Databases by Major: COHP, MCO & Pharmacy Database recommendations for College of Pharmacy, College of Health Professions, and Michigan College of Optometry
Ebook Databases Find full ebooks or relevant chapters / book entries.
Reference: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries.... Need an encyclopedia entry or a definition? Try these databases.
Video Databases Streaming videos.

Public Health Research Guide
by Ali Konieczny Last Updated Mar 5, 2024 57 views this year

Contact:

Call (231) 591-3696
Offices: PHAR 202-H / COHP 415

Subjects: Clinical Laboratory Sciences, College of Health Professions, Dental Hygiene, Health Care System Administration, Health Info Tech / Health Info Mgmt, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Molecular Diagnostics, Nuclear Medicine, Nursing, Optometry, Pharmacy, Public Health, Radiography, Respiratory Care, Sonography