LibGuides: Nursing: Database Recommendations: Nursing Database Recommendations

Database Suggestions

Best Bets by Database Type:

Anatomy

Anatomy:

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
3D interactive models of human anatomy as well as media, x-rays, MRIs, animations, and live-action movies. Video clips can be downloaded for use in presentations.

Articles (Journal Literature)

Articles: Journal Literature:

*Be sure to look at your source type. Beyond journals, some databases listed below may also have content from magazines, newspapers, dissertations, etc.

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is cross-searching approximately 3000 journals, including: American Journal of Nursing; MEDSURG Nursing; Journal of Nursing Administration; Nursing Research; Journal of Nursing Education; and many, many, more. Dissertations can also be found in CINAHL.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This is the largest biomedical database, made freely available by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), that is cross-searching approximately 5000 journals, with many in the nursing field.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 1,900 nursing journals on to the specialized care, treatment, and management of a variety of patients.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches numerous Gale databases, including health-oriented databases, as well as many other subject areas.

Drug Information

UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Drug and disease information including drug identification, drug dosing calculation, AHFS content, and patient education materials. Also includes Trissel’s IV compatibility, drug reports searchable by adverse reaction, indication, and contraindication, as well as MSDS and toxicology information.
Formerly named Lexicomp.
NatMed This link opens in a new window
Information with links to citations and full text articles on over 90,000 commercial natural products including product data, effectiveness, safety, drug interactions, and adverse effects.
Pharmacology World This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos to help you master the key concepts of pharmacology. Covers all major drug classes and includes: mechanism of action, key pharmacokinetics, major therapeutic uses, and common and serious adverse effects.

Ebooks

Ebooks: Great Sources for Background Information!

Credo This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,000 reference titles such as subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also includes over 1,100 short reference videos and over 450,000 high-resolution art images, photographs and maps.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks from general and scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers, on numerous subjects, including various health & medical areas. Each ebook includes tools for creating citations, note-taking, highlighting, and bookmarking.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks from numerous subject areas, including various health & medical areas.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
*To see only ebook content, be sure to select Reference.
STAT!Ref (Teton Data Systems) This link opens in a new window
Searchable medical and allied health reference books.

See more ebook databases:

Ebook Databases
by Ali Konieczny Last Updated Sep 10, 2024 43 views this year

Gray Literature

Searching for information that is not formally published? This is gray literature. A more detailed explanation of what gray literature is and some of the information types can be found from Johns Hopkins Welch Medical Library's guide:

What is gray literature? How do I search for it?

There are many sources for searching Gray Literature. Below is one specific to the nursing field.

Sigma Repository
From Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma), this repository allows "nurses and nursing students to locate unique nursing research as well as evidence-based practice and educational materials."

NCLEX

NCLEX: National Council Licensure Examination:

StatPearls NCLEX (Nursing) This link opens in a new window
Get ready for the NCLEX using this database! In addition to a large test bank, there are also links to over 8000 medical reference articles to help you understand various topics.

Patient-Oriented Information

Patient-Oriented Information:

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Freely available! Another database made available through the National Library of Medicine, this database has health information on over 1000 topics with information oriented toward patients.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from and citations for over 500 publications on health and wellness topics from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Consumer Health Information (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Detailed answers to the 200 most-commonly-asked health questions. Available in 17 languages. Answers are provided in evidence-based reports that feature graphics, illustrations, easy-to-read text and links to additional information.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 80 consumer health magazines, 130 reference books, and 1,000 pamphlets. Also includes 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports in English and Spanish.
STAT!Ref (Teton Data Systems) This link opens in a new window
**Note: To find patient-oriented information, first run your search, and then use the top filter to the left of the results that defaults to All Titles and change that filter to Patient Information.

Videos

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos including thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases.
Ovid Gateway This link opens in a new window
Searches journals, books, and multimedia in scientific, medical, and healthcare disciplines including a large collection of videos available under the multimedia tab.

Explore More Databases

Databases A - Z Alphabetical list of FLITE's more than 100 databases.
Databases by Broad Subject Areas Business, Financial, & Legal; Education & Career; General & Multidisciplinary; Health & Medical; Humanities; Librarian Resources; News Service / Newspapers; Reference; Science & Technology; Social Sciences
Databases by Major: All listings within system
Databases by Major: COHP, MCO & Pharmacy Database recommendations for College of Pharmacy, College of Health Professions, and Michigan College of Optometry
Ebook Databases Find full ebooks or relevant chapters / book entries.
Reference: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries.... Need an encyclopedia entry or a definition? Try these databases.
Video Databases Streaming videos.

Research Guides: Nursing

Nursing Research Guide: General for BSN, MSN, & DNP
by Ali Konieczny Last Updated Sep 10, 2024 211 views this year

BSN Program (Nursing - Undergraduate) Research Guide
by Ali Konieczny Last Updated Oct 3, 2024 2952 views this year

MSN Program
by Ali Konieczny Last Updated Sep 10, 2024 1262 views this year

DNP Program
by Ali Konieczny Last Updated Sep 10, 2024 1365 views this year

Your Health Sciences Librarian

Ali Konieczny

Contact:

Call (231) 591-3696
Offices: PHAR 202-H / COHP 415

Subjects: Clinical Laboratory Sciences, College of Health Professions, Dental Hygiene, Health Care System Administration, Health Info Tech / Health Info Mgmt, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Molecular Diagnostics, Nuclear Medicine, Nursing, Optometry, Pharmacy, Public Health, Radiography, Respiratory Care, Sonography