Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2939254&site=ehost-live Section 5 provides a symptom-driven approach to the diagnosis and treatment of major neuro-ophthalmic conditions. Accordingly, the emphasis is on the examination of the patient - both basic and extended - and the appropriate use of adjunctive studies to determine the status of the patient's visual system as a whole. Several chapters were substantially updated for this major revision, including the chapter on imaging in neuro-ophthalmology, which contains a new section devoted to interpreting optical coherence tomography results, and the chapter on functional neurological symptom (conversion) and related disorders, which includes an overview of the most recent diagnostic categorization of these disorders. An overview of the anatomy of visual pathways is accompanied by numerous illustrations. For this edition, a significant number of videos, activities on orbital anatomy and the visual pathways, and an animation demonstrating visual snow have been added to increase understanding. Print users have access to the videos and activities. Upon completion of Section 5, readers should be able to: Explain a symptom-driven approach to the assessment of patients with common neuro-ophthalmic clinical manifestations and state an appropriate differential diagnosis. Describe a plan for the immediate management of patients with neuro-ophthalmic emergencies. Describe eye movement disorders and their anatomical relationship to the ocular motor system. Explain functional neurological symptom (conversion) disorder, factitious disorder, and malingering, and list the various clinical tests that are used to evaluate functional vision loss. Describe the neuro-ophthalmic effects of the most common neurologic and systemic disorders affecting the visual and ocular motor systems.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2939257&site=ehost-live Section 8 discusses the structure and function of the cornea and external eye and reviews relevant examination techniques. It covers the latest statistics on indications for corneal transplants from the eye bank Association of America. Covers infectious and ocular surface diseases; disorders and surgery of the ocular surface; immune-mediated and neoplastic disorders; and congenital anomalies and degenerations. A chapter on the diagnosis and management of corneal dystrophies reflects the IC3D classification of the dystrophies according to a template consisting of clinical, pathologic, and genetic information. Toxic and traumatic injuries and corneal transplantation are also reviewed. Interactive elements throughout the text help to build your knowledge and include a new activity on corneal layers and corresponding confocal images; an animation demonstrating the development of the cornea; and a corneal ectasia case study. Eleven original narrated technical videos demonstrating select surgical techniques, including animations will also aid your understanding. Print users have access to the videos. This major revision also covers new diagnostic imaging technologies, endothelial replacement surgery updates and best practices for sebaceous cell carcinoma early recognition and treatment. Upon completion of Section 8, readers should be able to: Explain the overall strategy, examination, and technology used for systematic evaluation of the cornea and the external eye. Describe the basic principles and the clinical approach to the diagnosis and treatment of viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic keratitis. List the risk factors, clinical signs, and breadth of management options of corneal ectasia. List the risk factors, diagnosis, and treatment of neoplastic disease of the cornea and the external eye. Identify unique clinical features that help differentiate the more common corneal dystrophies and describe an appropriate management strategy for each. Identify the common corneal manifestations of systemic disease and describe their treatments.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2939263&site=ehost-live Section 13 covers the science of refractive surgery and patient evaluation. It also examines specific procedures in refractive surgery and their potential complications, refractive surgery in ocular and systemic disease, and accommodative and nonaccommodative treatment of presbyopia. In addition, the book includes information on lens implants. This major revision features a number of updates, including a chapter focusing on small-incision lenticule extraction (SMILE), greater emphasis on advances in intraocular lens technology, and expanded coverage of intraocular refractive surgery. Deepen your understanding with eight original videos that demonstrate refractive surgical techniques, including the FDA-approved SMILE procedure. Print users have access to the videos. Upon completion of Section 13, readers should be able to: Explain the steps-including medical and social history, ocular examination, and ancillary testing-in evaluating whether a patient is an appropriate candidate for refractive surgery. For surface ablation procedures, describe patient selection, epithelial removal, refractive outcomes, and complications. For laser in situ keratomileusis (LASIK), describe patient selection, surgical techniques, outcomes, and complications. Describe how intraocular surgical procedures, including refractive lens exchange or implantation of a phakic IOL, can be used in refractive correction, with or without corneal intervention. Describe the different types of IOLs used for refractive correction