Kendall College of Art and Design Library

KCAD Library Mission

The Kendall College of Art & Design Library (KCAD Library) is an academic library with an art and design focus.

The KCAD Library mission is to engage artists, designers and scholars in the use of information to forward individual and collaborative inquiry, provide support for effective teaching and learning, and to encourage intellectual growth, artistic enrichment, and academic excellence.

The KCAD Library achieves this through:

• Selection, acquisition, organization, preservation and providing access to a diverse body of scholarly information resources in support of the college curriculum
• Providing a safe and comfortable place for students and faculty to actively engage in study and research
• Assisting and instructing students and faculty in finding appropriate scholarly information
• Providing education in the ethical use of information
• Collaboration within the college across departments and programs, within FSU and with other institutions outside of the university, to enhance library collections and services
• Using technology to extend universal access to library resources and services

Ferris University Libraries Forward Strategic Plan - 2021-2025

Collections 

The KCAD Library collections provide a curated diverse body of scholarly resources for students pursuing degrees in art education, art history, fine art and across numerous fields of design, including graphic design, industrial design, interior design, furniture design, metals and jewelry, and digital media. The collections also support graduate level research in architecture, art education, collaborative design, and visual and critical studies.

Being a college that is part of FSU, KCAD students, faculty and staff benefit from shared access to the numerous online databases, eBooks, reference and streaming video resources maintained by FLITE. The current KCAD print collections number is +28,000 volumes. 

The KCAD Library also holds a special collection spanning a range of materials including furniture catalogs, folios, unique and rare books and illustrative works with a focus on decorative arts and historical furniture design.

Services

The KCAD Library provides essential services such as Interlibrary loan and MeLCat, a Michigan based resource sharing consortium. Two professional academic librarians provide onsite services to students and faculty which include: Reference and research assistance, library instruction, subject liaison and course reserves.​

​Elise J. Bohn, MSIS
Library Director
Make an appointment with me 
elisebohn@ferris.edu
616.259.1123 

Benjamin Boss, MLIS
Content Management and Scholarly Communication Librarian
Make an appointment with me
benboss@ferris.edu 
616.259.1126