LibGuides: PHAR 587: Journal Literature

Peer Review

Scrutinizing Science: Peer Review - Part of a larger tutorial, Understanding Science: How Science Really Works, this slide provides nice explanations and link-outs.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"The International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) provide a comprehensive collection of information on drug use and development."
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Made freely available by the National Library of Medicine, "As of April 5, 2018, 5,235 journals were being indexed in MEDLINE," the major component of PubMed.

SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new window
To use: Register here using your Ferris email address
Substances, reactions and references including chemical structures, chemical names, CAS Registry Numbers®, properties, commercial availability, regulatory information, reaction schemes, experimental procedures, conditions, yields, solvents, and catalysts.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 8,500 publications including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Also contains citations for over 25,000 publications including white papers, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Searches one, several, or all of the Gale databases simultaneously.

Need help with pharmacy research? Don't hesitate to:

Also, you may want to view the following ebook:

Pharmacy Research by Rosalyn Padiyara Vellurattil; American Pharmacists Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781582122410
Publication Date: 2015
Pharmacy Research: A How-To Guide for Students, Residents, and New Practitioners provides an introduction to research methods and a foundation on which individual research practices can be built. It includes tools for research training and cultivation, an area emphasized by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. Today, pharmacy practice and residency positions are extremely competitive. Having research experience will enhance candidates marketability. Students, new graduates, residents, and any practitioners needing basic training in research fundamentals will find this a valuable resource.