LibGuides: PHAR 587: Drug Information

Selecting a Drug Information Resource

Not sure what resource to use to find information? A quick reference is Table 3.2 of the following e-book.

Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, 6th ed. by Meghan J. Malone; Sharon K. Park; Patrick M. Malone
Call Number: Ebook: Unlimited Users
ISBN: 9781259837975
Publication Date: 2018
Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://accesspharmacy.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=2275

Online Drug Information Resources are categorized below to help you find the following:

Drug Facts & Comparisons: Temporary Link Sept 2023
Use this for this week while technical issues are being addressed. The username and password are in Canvas under Module 3. **You'll either have to clear cookies on your browser or switch to a different browser to be able to switch to Lexicomp!

Drug Facts & Comparisons This link opens in a new window Comparative charts and drug information for on-label and off-label use, affect on pregnancy and lactation, and risk mitigation. Also includes herbal information, boxed warnings, manufacturer index, medication guides, and immunization schedules. Drug reports searchable by adverse reaction, indication, and contraindication.
UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window Drug and disease information including drug identification, drug dosing calculation, AHFS content, and patient education materials. Also includes Trissel’s IV compatibility, drug reports searchable by adverse reaction, indication, and contraindication, as well as MSDS and toxicology information.
Formerly named Lexicomp.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window Comprehensive evidence-based resources on drugs, medication management, toxicology, diseases, acute care, alternative medicine, and condition management.

Drug Facts & Comparisons This link opens in a new window Comparative charts and drug information for on-label and off-label use, affect on pregnancy and lactation, and risk mitigation. Also includes herbal information, boxed warnings, manufacturer index, medication guides, and immunization schedules. Drug reports searchable by adverse reaction, indication, and contraindication.
UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window Drug and disease information including drug identification, drug dosing calculation, AHFS content, and patient education materials. Also includes Trissel’s IV compatibility, drug reports searchable by adverse reaction, indication, and contraindication, as well as MSDS and toxicology information.
Formerly named Lexicomp.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window Comprehensive evidence-based resources on drugs, medication management, toxicology, diseases, acute care, alternative medicine, and condition management.

Drug Facts & Comparisons This link opens in a new window Comparative charts and drug information for on-label and off-label use, affect on pregnancy and lactation, and risk mitigation. Also includes herbal information, boxed warnings, manufacturer index, medication guides, and immunization schedules. Drug reports searchable by adverse reaction, indication, and contraindication.
UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window Drug and disease information including drug identification, drug dosing calculation, AHFS content, and patient education materials. Also includes Trissel’s IV compatibility, drug reports searchable by adverse reaction, indication, and contraindication, as well as MSDS and toxicology information.
Formerly named Lexicomp.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window Comprehensive evidence-based resources on drugs, medication management, toxicology, diseases, acute care, alternative medicine, and condition management.

NatMed This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based database on natural products and treatments.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(select the Drugs & Herbal Remedies tab): Note, this database is available through MeL, so is available to Michigan residents, not just Ferris affiliates

Drug Facts & Comparisons Natural Products Database
If coming in through Drug Facts & Comparisons homepage, link into this resource under References by selecting Drug Indexes and from here you'll see the Natural Products Database
Lexicomp Natural Products Database
If coming through Lexicomp's homepage, use the top More Clinical Tools link, and then select Indexes to see the option for this database.

About Herbs
From Memorial Sloan Kettering, provides "Expert advice and information on supplements, integrative medicine treatments, and more."

Dietary Supplement Label Database This link opens in a new window
Made freely available by the National Library of Medicine.

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health : Topics A - Z
Information on numerous complementary/alternative treatments provided, with some information on natural products.

Drugs@FDA Database
"Information about FDA-approved brand name and generic prescription and over-the-counter human drugs and biological therapeutic products."
MedWatch : The FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program
The FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program: Your FDA gateway for clinically important safety information and reporting serious problems with human medical products. You can Report a Problem, Get Safety Informationon medical products, or Stay Informed by subscribing to the newsfeed.

Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations This link opens in a new window
Drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act and related patent and exclusivity information. Searchable by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant, application number, dosage form, route of administration or patent number.

Institute for Safe Medication Practices
The world’s foremost non-profit organization educating the healthcare community and consumers about safe medication practices
LactMed
National Library of Medicine's Drugs and Lactation Database.