LibGuides: DHYG 108: Suggested Library Databases

DHYG Quick References

DHYG 108 Topic-Specific Help
Find suggestions for where to look to find detailed information on your topic.

Background Information

Gathering background information, or "presearch" is a crucial part of information gathering!

Reference books and textbooks are a great source of background information. Suggested resources for background information include:

Databases that cross-search books:

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks that covers many topics, and includes books relevant to dental hygiene.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks from general and scholarly sources, including dental and other health / medical topics.
STAT!Ref (Teton Data Systems) This link opens in a new window
Searchable medical and allied health reference books.

Oral Cavity Lesions
This chapter, chapter 195 from Decker: Surgery (Ashley, S. W., 2019), may be helpful for your topic, and is from the database STAT!Ref.

Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from medical journals and health magazines as well as reference sources, streaming video, audio, and images on health-related issues. Also includes Spanish editions of notable content and a Spanish search filter.

Full Text Reminder

Remember, to link out to the full text of articles in databases such as PubMed and CINAHL, you'll need to use the Find It link. If you need a reminder on using the Find It link, please see the Full Text Linking tab.

DHYG Quick References

Background Information

Gathering background information, or "presearch" is a crucial part of information gathering!

Suggested Databases to Find Articles on your Topic

Full Text Reminder