This database, the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health, draws information from more than 3000 journals. In order to link to the full text of articles, use the Find It link. If looking specifically for research, on the Advanced or Basic Search screens select Research under Publication Type. See the CINAHL tab for more information.

This is the largest biomedical database, and is cross-searching over 5000 journals ,and is freely available thanks to the National Library of Medicine (NLM). In order to link to the full text of articles: 1) Click into the article record 2) Use the Find It link. If specifically looking for research articles: From PubMed's Homepage, click on "Clinical Queries" (center column below the search box, under "PubMed Tools"). This specialized search is intended for clinicians and has built-in search "filters." Four study categories--therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis--are provided, and you may indicate whether you wish your search to be more sensitive (i.e., include most relevant articles but probably including some less relevant ones) or more specific (i.e., including mostly relevant articles but probably omit a few). See the PubMed for EBP tab for help.

The Cochrane Library cross-searches 7 databases, with the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews being the default information source (only if results are found within the systematic reviews subset). Remember, systematic reviews are very high-level evidence, and are found at the top of the EBP Pyramid. However, if you are looking for primary (original) research, PubMed and CINAHL are the suggested databases.

PowerSearch across numerous Gale databases, including General Onefile & Academic Onefile. The cross-searched databases tend to be huge and are useful for finding information on almost any topic. Information is coming from journals, magazines, books, newspapers, videos, and podcasts.