Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.sciencedirect.com/bookseries/profiles-of-drug-substances-excipients-and-related-methodology/volumes Volumes in this widely revered series present comprehensive reviews of drug substances and additional materials, with critical review chapters that summarize information related to the characterization of drug substances and excipients. This organizational structure meets the needs of the pharmaceutical community and allows for the development of a timely vehicle for publishing review materials on this topic. The scope of the Profiles series encompasses review articles and database compilations that fall within one of the following six broad categories: Physical profiles of drug substances and excipients; Analytical profiles of drug substances and excipients; Drug metabolism and pharmacokinetic profiles of drug substances and excipients; Methodology related to the characterization of drug substances and excipients; Methods of chemical synthesis; and Reviews of the uses and applications for individual drug substances, classes of drug substances, or excipients.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=nlebk&db=nlabk&AN=284985 NOTE: This is a single-user e-book. If unable to access the e-book, you may need to use the print book, located on the main level of the library.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4451901 Following its successful predecessor, this book covers the fundamentals, delivery routes and vehicles, and practical applications of drug delivery. In the 2nd edition, almost all chapters from the previous are retained and updated and several new chapters added to make a more complete resource and reference. * Helps readers understand progress in drug delivery research and applications * Updates and expands coverage to reflect advances in materials for delivery vehicles, drug delivery approaches, and therapeutics * Covers recent developments including transdermal and mucosal delivery, lymphatic system delivery, theranostics * Adds new chapters on nanoparticles, controlled drug release systems, theranostics, protein and peptide drugs, and biologics delivery

The advances in biotechnology and molecular biology over recent years have resulted in a large number of novel molecules with the potential to revolutionize the treatment and prevention of disease. However, such potential is severely compromised by significant obstacles to delivery of these drugs in vivo. These obstacles are often so great that effective drug delivery and targeting is now recognized as the key to effective development of many therapeutics. Advanced drug delivery and targeting can offer significant advantages to conventional drugs, such as increased efficiency, convenience, and the potential for line extensions and market expansion. An accessible and easy-to-read textbook, Drug Delivery and Targeting for Pharmacists and Pharmaceutical Scientists is the first book to provide a comprehensive introduction to the principles of advanced drug delivery and targeting, their current applications and potential future developments, including: *Methods to optimize therapeutic efficacy, and the related commercial implications *Difficulties with drug absorption, unwanted distribution and premature inactivation / elimination *Attempts to minimize toxicity or alter immunogenicity *Methods to achieve rate-controlled drug release and effective drug targeting *Novel and established routes of delivery *Use of new generation technologies such as biosensors, microchips, stimuli-sensitive hydrogels and plasmid-based gene therapy This volume is indispensable for pharmaceutical students, scientists and researchers.

The third edition of this popular book contains the latest research and development on drug delivery systems. It also contains a new chapter on nanoscience and technology for drug delivery along with cutting-edge business intelligence and strategies throughout the text. Like previous editions, it continues to provide readers with a multitude of possible drug delivery systems that can be used to improve therapeutics as well as information on the technology involved and the regulatory approaches that make them useful. The authors introduce complex drug delivery technology in an easy-to-understand format with numerous practical examples.

Ebook edition. Also available in print.

Ebook edition. Also available in print.

Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms: Tablets, Volume 1 examines the fundamental physical and chemical processes that the different unit oprations use, and then applies this knowledge to the discussion of the varying unit operations and processes.

Volume 2 focuses on the rational design, and formulation of a tablet and includes chapters with practical illustrations and formulation examples.

Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms: Tablets, Volume Three examines: automation in tablet manufacture setting dissolution specifications testing and evaluating tablets specifications for manufacture new regulatory policies

Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms: Capsules covers the development, composition, and manufacture of capsules. Despite the important role that capsules play in drug delivery and product development, few comprehensive texts on the science and technology of capsules have been available for the research and academic environments. This text addresses this gap, discussing how capsules provide unique capabilities and options for dosage form design and formulation.

Completely revised and updated, this third edition of Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery elucidates the basic principles of pharmaceutics, biopharmaceutics, dosage form design, and drug delivery - including emerging new biotechnology-based treatment modalities. The authors integrate aspects of physical pharmacy, chemistry, biology, and biopharmaceutics into drug delivery.　 This book highlights the increased attention that the recent spectacular advances in gene therapy and nanotechnology have brought to dosage form design and drug delivery. With the expiration of older patents and generic competition, the biopharmaceutical industry is evolving faster than ever. Apart from revising and updating existing chapters on the basic principles, this edition highlights the emerging emphasis on drug discovery, antibodies and antibody-drug conjugates as therapeutic moieties, individualized medicine including patient stratification strategies, targeted drug delivery, and the increasing role of modeling and simulation. Although there are numerous books on pharmaceutics and dosage forms, most cover different areas of the discipline and do not provide an integrated approach. The integrated approach of this book not only provides a singular perspective of the overall field, but also supplies a unified source of information for students, instructors and professionals, saving their time and money.