Note: For VisionCite, to link out to full text, the login credentials are found in OPTM 411.

All Databases:

For the Advanced Search in databases, each search row stands for a separate concept. If overwhelmed with results, considering restricting your keywords to the title, because if your keywords are found in the title, the article is more likely to be on-topic. See the worksheet below to help you build an Advanced Search. 

• Use the left-hand filters, such as Publication Date and Article Type. A key article type if you would like to get a topic overview is Review.
• Do not apply the Free full text or full text filters, as this will exclude many full text articles available through FLITE's link-out
• When in an article's full record, if you find an article that is very much on-topic, consider using the right-hand options of Cited by and Similar articles to find more relevant results
• In the article's record, use the Cite feature to get a start on your citation. Change it to the correct citation style. By default it will be National Library of Medicine (NLM) citation style

• This database by default is setup for a keyword search. Notice the Natural Language Search option. You can toggle this on and see how it impacts your search.
• In the default Basic Search, after you run a search, use the filters below the search box to apply date limits, peer reviewed, language, etc.
• Under each record you'll see Access Options or Ferris Full Text. Use these options for full text linking.
• Use the triple dots on the right-hand side of articles in the results list to select the Cite option and get a start on your citations. If in the full record, to the top right you'll see quote marks that are the icon for citation help. *There is not the option for NLM citation style. AMA will be the closest, however, it will miss multiple authors names, as all authors are listed in NLM style.
•  Consider using the Advanced Search that will allow you to restrict keywords to the title, easily apply multiple concepts, and multiple filters.

• Do consider using this database as it has unique content not found in other databases.
• Remember, use the login found in OPTM 411 so you can link out to the full text through FLITE!
• This database requires you to capitalize Boolean operators: AND, OR, NOT
• Consider the Advanced Search to restrict keywords to the title only and to help you properly build your search with the requirements for all capital letters for Boolean operators.
• Use the triple dots on the right-hand side of the record for citation help, or if in the full record, click on the quote mark for citation help. There isn't the option for NLM style, so you can use APA style as a start, but realize it will need significant modifications.