LibGuides: BIOL 460 (All Classes): Websites

Agriculture

Agricultural Network Information Center Through AgNIC you can search the world of agriculture and stay up-to-date with the latest agricultural news and events taking place around the world.

A.D.A.M. Anatomy Videos-Medline Plus Watch videos highlighting body parts and organ systems as well as overviews of diseases or conditions affecting them.
Digital Anatomist Project Interactive anatomy atlases by the University of Washington.
Whole Brain Atlas "This is an information resource for central nervous system imaging which integrates clinical information with magnetic resonance (MR), x-ray computed tomography (CT), and nuclear medicine images. We welcome submission of Atlas entries. The Atlas project is made possible in part by the Departments of Radiology and Neurology at Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School, the Countway Library of Medicine, and the American Academy of Neurology"-Site

Plant Pathology Internet Guidebook The Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book is a subject-oriented Internet resource guide for plant pathology, applied entomology and related fields. This site by the Institute for Plant Diseases, University of Bonn, Germany, offers links to many related websites.
Smithsonian Department of Botany Search this Smithsonian Institute site for plant research, collection information, images, links to other resources and tools and events.
Native Plants of North America Free database with information on over 13,000 native North American plants. Search by common or scientific name or use browsing by family.
Native American Ethnobotany A database of plants used as drugs, foods, dyes, fibers, and more, by native Peoples of North America-from site.

Oncolink This University of Pennsylvania resource provides educational materials, research and treatment information for all types of cancer.

World Health Organization You'll probably have most luck with the WHO site if you're looking for information about a specific disease/outbreak.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) The CDC, a part of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, offers information on diseases, healthy living, travelers' health, statistics and more.

Entomology Index of Internet Resources Developed at the University of Iowa, this is a directory and search engine for insect-related Internet resources.
BugGuide.Net! An online community of naturalists who enjoy learning about and sharing their observations of insects, spiders and other related creatures. Hosted by Iowa State University Department of Entomology.

The Encyclopedia of Earth A peer-reviewed collection of content about earth, its natural environments and their interaction with society. For scholars, students, professionals, educators, scholars and the general public.

Darwin Online Vast collection of material on and by Charles Darwin edited by John van Whye.

Forensic Science Resources on the Internet A great index to all types of forensic science information on the internet including books, societies and crime scene investigation

Human Genome Project Visit the National Human Genome Research Institute site for general information, educational material, research and more regarding the Human Genome Project.
Virtual Library on Genetics This site is a collection of links to genetic information resources. Hosted by Oak Ridge National Library for the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science.

Encyclopedia of Life Learn about microorganisms, plants, animals and fungi. View subject overviews, data, maps, media, updates, literature and more!

SORA Searchable Ornithology Research Archive A vast archive of open access ornithological journals with an international scope. Developed and hosted by the University of New Mexico Libraries.

All the Virology on the WWW "ViralZone is a web resource for all viral genera and families that provides general molecular and epidemiological information, along with virion and genome figures."