Thoroughly updated and enhanced by new print and electronic ancillaries, this full-color text provides accurate, practical information and instruction on phlebotomy procedures with a comprehensive background in theory and principles. Reflecting current CLSI guidelines, NAACLS competencies, and federal regulations, this Fifth Edition includes updated information on safety issues and equipment, laboratory information systems and instrumentation, legal issues, and diagnostic tests.
Unlike similar texts, which are often laden in technological details, Dr. Dunphy offers a comprehensive flow cytometry textbook, which covers in great depth, the technical aspects of FCI, phenotypic markers, as well as the advantages and disadvantages of FCI, but also a quick diagnostic guide incorporating normal and abnormal phenotypic findings of peripheral blood, body fluids, bone marrow, and lymph nodes. Integration of flow cytometry immunophenotyping with morphology and molecular genetic findings provides a complete diagnostic picture.......
Established since 1942 as the leading hematology textbook,Wintrobe's Clinical Hematologyis now in its thoroughly revised Twelfth Edition. The text continues its tradition of correlating basic science with the clinical practice of hematology and is organized to help physicians find clinical answers quickly and easily. The Twelfth Edition is in full color for the first time, includes more international contributors, and has two new editors, Daniel A. Arber, MD and Robert T. Means, Jr., MD. Highlights include expanded coverage of molecular genetics and pathogenesis, more hematopathology illustrations, and current information on new medications and their rapid bench-to-bedside development. Four new chapters cover anemias unique to the newborn period, pathology of LHC and other histiocytic disorders, tumors of the spleen, and pathology and classification of myeloproliferative disorders and mast cell disease. Acompanion Websitewill offer the fully searchable text and an image bank.
The Second Edition offers a concise review of all areas of clinical lab science, including the standard areas, such as hematology, chemistry, hemostasis, immunohematology, clinical microbiology, parasitology, urinalysis and more, as well as lab management, lab government regulations, and quality assurance. A companion website offers 35 case studies, an image bank of color images, and a quiz bank with 500 questions in certification format.
This entertaining book offers a unique and fascinating look at the relationship between bacteria and humans, told from the bacteria's perspective. Gathered at an imaginary assembly, the microbes compare notes on their history and current coexistence with humans, from their own view of pathogenesis to the often derogatory manner in which humans assign their names. The Other End of the Microscope provides readers with clever sketches of a variety of microbes. Their internal structure, niches and habitats, physiology, modes of survival, association with human diseases, and mechanisms of antibiotic resistance are covered, all from the bacterial point of view. Readers will be delighted by the antics of these bacteria and will gain new insights into the activities of this hidden world, where microbes can ultimately protect themselves against virtually any natural or human-invented adversity. The fantasy culminates in a session at which the bacteria have a contest to rename Homo sapiens in an attempt to sensitize humans to be more prudent in the naming of future species of bacteria, accentuating their positive, rather than negative, qualities. In turning the tables Dr. Koneman offers a unique way to see the world from a different perspective. Scientists, students and teachers, and the science-interested lay public will all be captivated, entertained, and educated by this extraordinary tale.
This recollection by much-admired author and presenter Adam Hart-Davis takes the reader on a fascinating tour of an altogether different kind—a whirlwind tour of the history and mysteries of urine. The scientific aspects are presented in the author's own clear and engaging style, filled with the charm of someone who clearly loves his subject. A humorous, compulsive assortment of tales surrounding everyone from Marilyn Monroe to the Victorians,Taking the Pissalso reveals exciting discoveries about an area with which we are all passingly familiar.
ASCP CASESET is a rich source of practical cases with significant teaching value. Cases are chosen by leading authorities in the major subspecialties of clinical pathology-the editors of LABMEDICINE, a peer-reviewed journal published by ASCP. Wide range of cases covering rare, common, and unusual conditions in chemistry, urinalysis, transfusion medicine, microbiology, hematology, coagulation, and immunology Standardized format promotes critical thinking and analysis Organization by topic makes it easy to find cases Detailed answers provided for all questions posed in the case studies Suggested reading for further exploration of each case topic Each subspecialty section includes an overview written by an expert in the field, providing useful, integrating information about the cases. In addition to covering clinical pathology/laboratory medicine topics, youll find cases that incorporate anatomic pathology to reinforce understanding of the pathophysiology of the disease process.
Providing a solid introduction to the essentials of diagnostic microbiology, this accessible, full-color text helps you develop the problem-solving skills necessary for success in the clinical setting. A reader-friendly, "building block" approach to microbiology moves progressively from basic concepts to advanced understanding, guiding you through the systematic identification of etiologic agents of infectious diseases.
Known as the #1 bench reference for practicing microbiologists and an excellent text for students in clinical laboratory science programs, Bailey & Scott's Diagnostic Microbiology, 13th Edition helps you develop and refine the skills you need for effective laboratory testing.............
Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=1020289&site=ehost-live The 11th edition of the Manual of Clinical Microbiology continues to set the standard for state-of-the-science laboratory practices as the most authoritative reference in the field of clinical microbiology. This new edition presents the numerous microbial taxonomic changes and newer more powerful diagnostic approaches that have been developed since publication of the 10th edition....
The Flesh and Bones of Medical Microbiology presents a very clinically orientated account of the subject. It covers all the key concepts you need with no gaps. It can be used either as an introduction to a topic, or as a revision aid. Dfficult concepts are depicted by cartoon-strip illustrations, helping you to quickly understand information.
This exceptional resource introduces the fundamentals of nucleic acid biochemistry as well as the advanced concepts integral to professional practice in today's laboratories. With a focus on the application of molecular concepts to diagnose diseases, the 2nd Edition reflects the many advances in this rapidly developing field........
Successfully fighting cancer starts with understanding how it begins. This thoroughly revised 3rd Edition explores the scientific basis for our current understanding of malignant transformation and the pathogenesis and treatment of cancer.
This updated and expanded tutorial guide to molecular diagnostic techniques takes advantage of many new molecular technologies to include both improved traditional methods and totally new methods, some not yet in routine use. The authors offer cutting-edge molecular diagnostics for genetic disease, human cancers, infectious diseases, and identity testing, as well as new insights into the question of quality assurance in the molecular diagnostics laboratory. Additional chapters address other technologies found in the clinical laboratory that complementary to molecular diagnostic technologies and discuss genetic counseling and the ethical and social issues involved with nucleic acid testing.
Like its predecessors, the completely revised and updated fifth edition of Medically Important Fungi helps laboratory workers readily identify fungi by following a step-by-step procedure that incorporates consideration of macroscopic, microscopic, and other identifiable features. A fully updated edition that creates the preeminent bench-side guide and teaching aid for the identification of clinically encountered fungi.
Publication Date: 2008
This thoroughly updated 5th Edition provides you with concise and carefully structured full-color instruction in the handling and analysis of non-blood body fluids. You will learn how to handle and preserve the integrity of body fluid specimens and how to keep yourself and your laboratory safe from infectious agents! ......