Genetics and Genomics in Medicine is a new textbook written for undergraduate students, graduate students, and medical researchers that explains the science behind the uses of genetics and genomics in medicine today. Rather than focusing narrowly on rare inherited and chromosomal disorders, it is a comprehensive and integrated account of how genetics and genomics affect the whole spectrum of human health and disease. DNA technologies are explained, with emphasis on the modern techniques that have revolutionized the use of genetic information in medicine and are indicating the role of genetics in common diseases.
Awarded a 2012 AJN Book of the Year AwardBuild the foundation you need to understand the science of genetics and its growing role in the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders. Two experts in the field present the biological, psychological, a
Human Molecular Geneticsis an established and class-proven textbook for upper-level undergraduates and graduate students which provides an authoritative and integrated approach to the molecular aspects of human genetics. While maintaining the hallmark features of previous editions, the Fourth Edition has been completely updated. It includes new Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter and annotated further reading at the conclusion of each chapter, to help readers navigate the wealth of information in this subject. The text has been restructured so genomic technologies are integrated throughout, and next generation sequencing is included. Genetic testing, screening, approaches to therapy, personalized medicine, and disease models have been brought together in one section. Coverage of cell biology including stem cells and cell therapy, studying gene function and structure, comparative genomics, model organisms, noncoding RNAs and their functions, and epigenetics have all been expanded.
Molecular Analysis and Genome Discovery , Second Edition is a completely revised and updated new edition of this successful book. The text provides a comprehensive overview of recent developments in the fast moving field of molecular based diagnostics of disease markers. Key concepts and applications are provided alongside practical information on current techniques currently being researched and developed. Each chapter offers an up-to-date analysis of the subject encompassing the very latest technology platforms and is an essential reference for researchers in the field looking for an up-to-date overview of the subject. The book will also be an indispensable resource for those working in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries.
This updated and expanded tutorial guide to molecular diagnostic techniques takes advantage of many new molecular technologies to include both improved traditional methods and totally new methods, some not yet in routine use. The authors offer cutting-edge molecular diagnostics for genetic disease, human cancers, infectious diseases, and identity testing, as well as new insights into the question of quality assurance in the molecular diagnostics laboratory. Additional chapters address other technologies found in the clinical laboratory that complementary to molecular diagnostic technologies and discuss genetic counseling and the ethical and social issues involved with nucleic acid testing.
This exceptional resource introduces the fundamentals of nucleic acid biochemistry as well as the advanced concepts integral to professional practice in today's laboratories. With a focus on the application of molecular concepts to diagnose diseases, the
Contains state-of-the-art techniques for the detection of the underlying genetic heterogeneity leading to inherited disorders . Includes in-depth discussion of ethical and safety considerations . Identifies genetically modified organisms (GMO's) . Covers forensic analysis and every-day issues in a diagnostic laboratory Description The second edition of Molecular Diagnostics, the only book dealing with diagnosis on a molecular level, discusses current molecular biological techniques used to identify the underlying molecular defects in inherited disease. The book delves further into the principle and brief description of the technique, followed by examples from the authors' own expertise. Contributors to the 2/e are well-known experts in their field, and derive from a variety of disciplines, to ensure breadth and depth of coverage. Molecular Diagnostics, 2/e , is a needed resource for graduate students, researchers, physicians and practicing scientists in molecular genetics; professionals from similar backgrounds working in diagnostic laboratories in academia or industry, as well as, academic institutions and hospital libraries.
The prevalence of infectious diseases is worldwide increasing. Therefore, detection methods for infectious pathogens change quickly. In the new edition of Kessler´s Molecular Diagnostics of Infectious Diseases laboratory professionalists get valueable information about the current diagnostic methods, tipps and tricks in terms of sample processing, quality control, and interpretation of the results. For clinicians the book is a valuable aid for decision-making in ordering appropriate tests as well as in assuring the necessary quality of the sample material.
Providing a broad overview of the microbial pathogens associated with hospital-acquired human illness, Techniques for the Study of Hospital Acquired Infection examines the cost-effective use of laboratory techniques in nosocomial infectious disease epidemiology and control. This concise guide addresses the cost benefits of combining modern molecular techniques with the traditional activities of infection control departments. The book is useful as a guide to hospital infection control programs as well as a text for medical practitioners, grad/medical students, researcher scientists, population biologists, molecular biologists, and microbiologists.
This fully updated and expanded edition of the much-acclaimed Principles of Molecular Medicine provides an integrated survey of the basic principles of internal medicine, in light of recent dramatic discoveries in molecular medicine and new technologies for the diagnosis and treatment of human disease. In addition to fully revised sections on neurology, cardiology, hematology, nephrology, endocrinology, dermatology, immunology, gastroenterology, pulmonary disease, musculoskeletal medicine, and psychiatry, this volume contains new sections on genetics, oncology, metabolic diseases, and infectious diseases.