Hi All,
Some institutions are moving away from set collection development policies to more collection development priorities or philosophies in order to make decision-making more timely for new models of content. In this regard, I recommend looking at the Orbis Cascade Alliance Best Practices for collection development document linked here: https://www.orbiscascade.org/shared-content-program
as well as the University of Washington Libraries Collection & Access Priorities noted here: http://www.lib.washington.edu/about/strategicplan/2014/directions/collections-access
Along similar lines, some institutions such as Yale have a broad collection philosophy but then also chosen to go with collection statements for various subject areas: https://web.library.yale.edu/policy/collection-development-statements
By re-focusing a "policy" into a "priority" or "philosophy" academic librarians have more flexibility to respond to changing needs and develop models of collection access that better align with campus strategic plans. Priorities and philosophies can generally be changed or tweaked quicker than policies can in many institutions.
Jill
Our collection development policies are available on our website: https://www.loc.gov/acq/devpol/. Our electronic resources document is actually a “Supplementary Guideline” meant to work with, and provide additional information, to all of our other collection policy statements (CPS). We have a few supplementary guideline documents available here: https://www.loc.gov/acq/devpol/sup.html
FLITE