Collection Policy Info

https://guides.lib.vt.edu/collection-management

Collection Policy Notes: (Virginia Tech)

E-Preferred monograph policy.

E-Preferred subscription policy

Federal documents overview & collection use policy

How to Donate Books

Intellectual Freedom Policy

Quick guide to Library Approval Plans

Service Policy for access to government documents in electronic format

University Libraries collection policy on de-selection

Structured Policy, with top level & links.

(each of these is its own sub-policy)

link was: http://library.strose.edu/collectiionManagementPolicy. This link is still on the library home page but it does not work.

This is all in one piece, and pretty short. Structure is:

Introduction

Principles that inform this policy

Challenged materials

Collecting Levels

Collection Development and Management

• A. General Description of the Collection
  B. Electronic Resources & Access to Information
  C. Serials
  D. Collection Guidelines

• • 1. Criteria
  • 2. Responsibility
  E. Special Considerations
  F. Gifts
  G. Weeding
  H. Collection Evaluation
•  

Acquisition/Allocation Procedures

Approval of this Policy

A collection management policy defines the library’s collection objectives and establishes a framework for the systematic, equitable coordination of expenditures that permit use of available funds in the best possible way. This collection development policy will be reviewed and revised biennially.

The goal of the library collection is quality, not quantity. The collection may be said to have quality to the degree that it is relevant and appropriate in quantity to each discipline taught, to the level at which it is taught, and to the number of faculty and students that use it. Quality deteriorates when appropriate new materials are not added or when unneeded materials are retained.

The library seeks to maintain a collection of materials that furthers the purpose and mission of the institution as a whole in meeting the needs of students. Emphasis is placed on materials likely to be used by students in preparing for their courses or doing research related to their studies. While the library welcomes recommendations for additions to its collection from all members of the Carroll community, final decision about additions are made by professional librarians.

The library does not collect materials to support faculty research.

General Considerations

Quality

Currency

Completeness

Duplication

Preservation

Language

Geography

Censorship

Gifts

Classes of Materials

• Books
• Periodicals
• Article Databases
• Newspapers
• Microforms
• Other Materials

Weeding

The Reference Collection

Types of Materials Included in the Reference Section