LibGuides: ENGL 250 (Rescoe): FLITE Databases

Can't Find What You Need?

If you are writing persuasive papers, you probably need the Opposing Viewpoints database.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
Use Opposing Viewpoints for any persuasive assignments you have, especially when you have to show both sides of an argument.

Not finding resources yet? Subject databases might help. Search for specific databases associated with academic majors.

Databases by Academic Major
Students in any major at Ferris will discover specific databases that supply journal articles and other resources specifically for that discipline.

Still having trouble with anything? Please contact librarians for help.

Credo
Start with Credo to find basic and background information about topics from very reliable references
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This new-to-FLITE general database is an excellent first-stop for many different subjects.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a great source of academic journal articles for the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Try this especially for your government and democracy assignment.

CQ Researcher
Try out CQ Researcher for 12,000-word non-biased reports that analyze today's current event issues. Forty-four new reports are published every year.
Facts on File
Another great Current Event database. Select the Issues & Controversies section for balanced research on both sides of today's hot topics.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
A current events database on today's hottest social and controversial issues. It provides arguments for both sides. You can find articles, essays, websites, video, images, and more.

Access World News
Newspapers often write on current issues. This collection of newspapers in English from around the world is tops! You can even search newspaper right from the state of Michigan!

(She/Her/Hers)

Email Me

Contact:

FLITE 140C

231-591-3635

Subjects: Community College Leadership, Education, Film, Genealogy, Social Work

Everson, B. (2012). Why? [photo]. CC. Retrieved from www.flickr.com/photos/editor/6698208975/

1. Most of what you find on Google isn't scholarly.

2. When you do find something scholarly on Google, the site often asks you to pay for it.

3. You should never have to pay for content. That's what the library is for!