LibGuides: ENGL 250 (Rescoe): Web Searches, SmartSearch & Databases For FSU History

Free and reliable resources from the Web

Ferris Fact Book
Find facts and statistics about Ferris to make your paper stronger!
Ferris State University Master Planning
Upcoming Projects Approved by the Ferris Master Plan
Ferris State University Master Plan
Ferris State University 5-Year Master Plan
Approved by the Board of Control 2015
Google Advanced Search
Limit your search to .edu websites to learn about your topic at other colleges and universities.

SmartSearch

Search most of FLITE's resources right here. You can search through some of the Ferris Archives by using the dropdown menu from the search box at the top of the SmartSearch page. It usually reads FLITE Library. Click on in it to change it to FSU Archives.

Why bother with databases?

Most of what you find on Google isn't scholarly.
When you do find something scholarly on Google, the site often asks you to pay for it.
You should never have to pay for content. That's what the library is for!

Databases

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
Viewpoints from all perspectives on the most controversial issues using a variety of sources including journals, primary sources, reference sources, biographies, images, videos, audio recordings, news, magazines, statistics, and websites. Browseable by topic in categories such as business and economics, energy and environmentalism, health and medicine, law and politics, society and culture, science, technology, and ethics, and war and diplomacy.
CQ Researcher
Full text reports from 1991 to present on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Seasoned journalists research and write each 12,000 word report, which includes three pro-con debates, a background and chronology on the topic, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.