Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan) at Ferris State University

How to use Interlibrary Loan

The first step to accessing an item that our library does not own is to create an ILL account.

To do this, start at the library homepage, found at www.ferris.edu/library. At the home page, click on the Materials menu on the left, then click on Interlibrary Loan.

FLITE Library homepage

Once the page has loaded, select the link that reads "New to ILL? Create an account" to create your account.

Add a new account to ILLiad

After reading the registration screen, click the link at the bottom of the page to continue.

Create your account by filling out the required fields. Use your Ferris State University email when signing up for ILL, and note that the address you include will be the address that materials will be sent to per request if applicable. Update this address as needed.

Screenshot of ILL registration with Ferris email

You can also change your notification setting at the bottom of the page. You can get the notifications through email, text message, or both.

Screenshot of ILL registration selecting notification methods

To request books and articles through SmartSearch, start at the library homepage and type in your topic to the SmartSearch text box. 

Type your search terms in Smartsearch

Expand your search results to include everything that is available through ILLiad by selecting "Get this for me (Interlibrary Loan)" on the left side of the page.

Screenshot of Get This For Me option in Search Results

You can tell if FLITE does not own the text by looking below the title.

  • Check holdings means FLITE owns a physical copy. Off Campus and Kendall patrons may use ILLiad to request that an article be scanned and emailed to you, or for the physical copy to be delivered to your home if applicable.
  • Full Text Available means FLITE owns an electronic copy of the text. Following this link will bring you directly to the article.
  • No Full Text means FLITE does not own a copy, but any patron may place a request for this title through ILLiad.

Screenshot of Check holdings, Full Text Available, and No Full-Text

If you would like an article that is not available directly through Full Text, select "No Full Text" below the title as seen in the screenshot above, or click on the title itself and select "How to get it" under "Services". 

 

If you are an Off-Campus patron requesting an item that FLITE owns to be delivered to your home or for a portion of it to be scanned and emailed to you, click on the title itself and select "Click here for more options" under the "Find It" heading.

Screenshot of the Find It header

Click the "Go" button next to "Request document via Get this for me (Interlibrary Loan)" and log in to ILLiad.

Screenshot of Request document via Get this for me

The citation is prefilled in for you. Scroll to the bottom of the page and submit your request.

Another way to access ILL is through the individual databases. This example uses the database PubMed.

 

If you find an article that seems useful, click the "Find It" button on the upper right hand corner of the screen and log in to ILLiad.

Screenshot of Find It link on the database PubMed

Click the "Go" button next to "Request document via Get this for me (Interlibrary Loan)" and log in to ILLiad.

Screenshot of Request Document via Get this for me

The citation is prefilled in for you. Scroll to the bottom of the page and submit your request.

You will receive an email or text message alerting you that your article has arrived on your ILLiad account. 

In some instances, we have to cancel an item. You will be notified via email or text message explaining why the article was cancelled. 

Once you have received confirmation that your article has arrived, login to your ILLiad account and under the "View" tab, click "Articles Received" to read the text. Click the "View" icon.

Your article will be available to read for 21 days after you have received it. Notice the expiration date on the right hand side of the page. Your article will not be available after this date.

If you are done using the article early, you can delete it from your "Received Articles". Simply click on the "Delete" button. If you accidentally delete an article you want, you are able to access it on the same day that you deleted it by clicking "Undelete" aove the list of articles.

If you have any questions about ILL, contact our ILL Library Assistant Kelly McNeill.

Kelly McNeill
‚ÄčLibrary Assistant
1010 Campus Drive
Office FLITE 210
Big Rapids, MI 49307
Phone: 231-591-3641
kellymcneill@ferris.edu

ILL staff hours are:

Monday-Friday: 7:00 am - 3:30 pm