LibGuides: READ 176 (McCall): Databases and Resources

Why use a FLITE database?

(https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=726354)

1. When you search on Google, you're not guaranteed scholarly results.
2. If you do find something you'd like to use, you might encounter a paywall.
3. While at Ferris, you should never have to pay for content. That's what the library is for!

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 8,500 publications including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Also contains citations for over 25,000 publications including white papers, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
News coverage at the local, state, regional, national, and international level from over 12,400 print and online newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos.
Credo This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,000 reference titles such as subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also includes over 1,100 short reference videos and over 450,000 high-resolution art images, photographs and maps.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources including complete runs of over 2,600 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes over 60,000 DRM-free ebooks and over 2 million primary sources. Supports text mining/analysis and digital humanities research by providing datasets for journals, books, research reports, and pamphlets in the digital library.

Subject Databases

This portal will take you to the Library's Databases sorted by subject. This will provide you some curated databases by subject if the ones provided above don't get you the research you need.

Databases by Subject
All of FLITE Library's Databases sorted by Subject.
- Look for your major here and then select the databases suggested for research in your field of study.