LibGuides: NURS 320: Suggested Library Resources

Background Information

Gathering background information, or "presearch" is a crucial part of information gathering.

Reference books are a great source of background information. Suggested resources for background information include:

Ebooks: Cross-search the contents of many books:

STAT!Ref (Teton Data Systems) This link opens in a new window
Searchable medical and allied health reference books.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is our most common ebook interface, with many books in nursing and other health and medical fields.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is the ebook interface with your Scope & Standards books. There are also other books of potential interest in this ebook database.

Full Text Reminder

Remember, to link out to the full text of articles in databases such as PubMed and CINAHL, you'll need to use the Find It link. If you need a reminder on using the Find It link, please see the Full Text Linking tab.

Building Your Search Strategy

Before you begin searching in large article databases such as CINAHL or PubMed, be sure to create an effective search strategy to obtain optimal results. Please download the document below.

Building an Effective Search Strategy PDF fillable form to help you build a search strategy. ADA accessible.

Background Information

Gathering background information, or "presearch" is a crucial part of information gathering.

Suggested Databases to Find Articles on Your Topics

Full Text Reminder

Building Your Search Strategy