Skip to main content
Link to Ferris Homepage

Ferris Library for Information, Technology, and Education

LITR 311 (Nikkari): Finding Articles

LITR 311 - Nikkari

Finding Articles

Use the subscription databases available from the library's Web site to locate literary criticism articles and author biographies. The following are the databases that will be most relevant:

For information on accessing databases from off-campus, click here.

American Periodicals: 1740-1900
This database offers digitized pages from over 1,100 periodical titles, including literary journals, published in the United States. A work-in-progress, American Periodical Series currently includes material through the early twentieth century.

Gale Literary Sources
This wide-ranging product from Gale Group includes content from Gale's various print reference series and full-text articles from over 250 literary journals.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database which contains the full-text of articles from core journals in several academic disciplines. Coverage is from each journal's first issue and continues through 2-5 years from the most recently published issues. Many literary journals are included in JSTOR.

*Click here to access a guide on using JSTOR.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is the most comprehensive source for literary criticism published in literary journals over the past 90+ years. Most citations in MLA do not have accompanying full text (See Getting Articles).

Project MUSE
A partnership of several non-profit publishers, Project Muse offers full-text articles from over 250 journals. Full-text coverage for each journal varies but usually starts in the mid- to late- 1990s. Journals in Muse encompass the social sciences, humanities, and the arts; specific fields covered by Muse include literature and education.

*Click here to access a guide on using Project Muse.

Contact

Paul Kammerdiner's picture
Paul Kammerdiner
Contact:
FLITE 331
Phone: 231-591-3037