HIST 400 (Pisani)

News coverage at the local, state, regional, national, and international level from over 12,400 print and online newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos.

Digitized pages of over 1,240 American special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children’s and women’s magazines published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

Digitized pages of every issue of the Chicago Defender from 1909 through 1975 including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.

Digitized pages of every issue of the Chicago Tribune from 1849 through 1998 including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.

Digitized pages of every issue of the Detroit Free Press from 1831 through 1999 including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.

Manuscript, printed, and visual primary source documents on the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences from 1500 to 2000. Includes manuscripts, rare printed materials, letterbooks, periodicals, diaries, and photographs accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, interactive maps, and an interactive chronology.

Digitized pages of over 4,000 publications from Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand from 1543-1945 on suffrage, feminism, and daily life in the English-speaking world.

Manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organizations around the world depicting the history of fifteen major commodities and examining the ways that they have changed the world. Commodities include chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.

Citations for millions of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, records, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments from 1976 to present.

Digitized pages of every issue of the New York Times from 1851 through 2020 including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.

Videos of over 56,000 testimonies from survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides including the Nanjing Massacre, the Tutsi in Rwanda, and others. All recordings have digitized transcripts and are searchable to the minute.

Digitized pages of every issue of the Washington Post from 1877 through 2008 including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries.

Full text articles from over 8,400 journals and citations for over 14,000 publications. Also includes complementary reference, newspaper, and audio content.

Full text of over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources including complete runs of over 2,600 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes over 60,000 DRM-free ebooks and over 2 million primary sources. Supports text mining/analysis and digital humanities research by providing datasets for journals, books, research reports, and pamphlets in the digital library.

Full text articles and chapters from over 800 journals and over 90,000 books from 1995 to present. Also includes 5,000 open access books.