LibGuides: Lateral Reading (Cosper): FLITE Databases: Finding Articles

Databases - Articles

Credo This link opens in a new window
Start with Credo to find basic and background information about topics from very reliable references
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This new-to-FLITE general database is an excellent first-stop for many different subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a great source of academic journal articles for the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Try this especially for your government and democracy assignment.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Try out CQ Researcher for 12,000-word non-biased reports that analyze today's current event issues. Forty-four new reports are published every year.
Facts on File This link opens in a new window
Another great Current Event database. Select the Issues & Controversies section for balanced research on both sides of today's hot topics.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A current events database on today's hottest social and controversial issues. It provides arguments for both sides. You can find articles, essays, websites, video, images, and more.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers often write on current issues. This collection of newspapers in English from around the world is tops! You can even search newspaper right from the state of Michigan!

Everson, B. (2012). Why? [photo]. CC. Retrieved from www.flickr.com/photos/editor/6698208975/

1. Most of what you find on Google isn't scholarly.

2. When you do find something scholarly on Google, the site often asks you to pay for it.

3. You should never have to pay for content. That's what the library is for!

Databases by Academic Major
Students in any major at Ferris will discover specific databases that supply journal articles and other resources specifically for that discipline.