Datasets for Research Projects

Find information by geographic region, topic, year, survey, etc. Consider using the Advanced Search to apply desired filters.

There are many options for finding data, so you may want to view these "Data Gems".

Includes data from:
1) National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey (NAMCS)
2) National Hospital Ambulatory Medical Care Survey (NHAMCS)
3) National Health Care Surveys

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. Established in 1984 with 15 states, BRFSS now collects data in all 50 states as well as the District of Columbia and three U.S. territories. BRFSS completes more than 400,000 adult interviews each year, making it the largest continuously conducted health survey system in the world.

WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available including mortality data.

Disability and Health Data System (DHDS) is an online source of state-level data on adults with disabilities. Users can access information on six functional disability types, more than 30 health topics, and analyze the data using multiple variables.

Historical data from a number of surveys including:
1) Longitudinal Study of Aging (1984 - 1990)
2) National Health Interview Survey on Disability (1994-1995)
3) NHANES National Youth Fitness Survey (2012)
4) National Maternal and Infant Health Survey (1988; 1991)
5) National Mortality Follow-back Survey (1993)
6) National Hospital Discharge Survey (1965-2010)
7) National Nursing Home Survey (1973-74, 1977,1985, 1995, 1997, 1999 and 2004)
8) National Home and Hospice Care Survey (1992-1994, 1996, 1998, 2000, and 2007)
9) National Survey of Ambulatory Surgery (1994-1996; 2006)
10) National Survey of Residential Care Facilities (2010)
11) State and Local Area Integrated Telephone Survey

Survey from a program to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the U.S. Data combines interview and physical exam data.

The National Health Care Surveys are designed to answer key questions of interest to health care policy makers, public health professionals, and researchers. These can include the factors that influence the use of health care resources, the quality of health care, including safety, and disparities in health care services provided to population subgroups in the United States. This Includes:
1) Adult Day Services Centers
2) Ambulatory Surgery Centers
3) Community Health Centers
4) Hospital Emergency and Outpatient Departments
5) Hospital Inpatient Care
6) Hospital Outpatient Departments
7) Home and Hospice Care Agencies
8) Home Health and Hospice Aides
9) Long-Term Care Providers
10) Nursing Homes
11) Nursing Assistants
12) Physician Offices and Community Health Centers
13) Prison Health Care
14) Residential Care Facilities

The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) goes back to 1957 including a broad range of health topics.

NHCS collects data on patient care in hospital-based settings to describe patterns of health care delivery and utilization in the United States. Settings include inpatient, emergency (EDs), and outpatient departments (OPDs). The survey will provide hospital utilization statistics for the Nation.

The biennial National Post-acute and Long-term Care Study, formerly known as the National Study of Long-Term Care Providers (NSLTCP), monitors trends in the supply, provision, and use of the major sectors of paid, regulated long-term care services. NPALS uses survey data on the residential care community and adult day services sectors, and administrative data on the home health, nursing home, and hospice, inpatient rehabilitation facility, and long-term care hospital sectors.

Gathers information on family life, marriage, divorce, pregnancy and men's and women's health. It is used by DHHS for health services planning.

A number of different databases on national vital statistics such as birth, infant mortality, life expectancy and death.

The 2019 Open Enrollment Period (OEP) for the Health Insurance Exchanges ran between November 1, 2018 and December 15, 2018 and included cleanup for late Exchange activity between December 16, 2018 and December 22, 2018 for the 39 states using HealthCare.gov.

CMS public use files related to health benefits, health insurance, data on qualified plans and some claims cost.

Contains EHR Incentive Program data on eligible hospitals in the Medicare EHR Incentive Program.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has made a reasonable effort to ensure that the provided data/records/reports are up-to-date, accurate, complete, and comprehensive at the time of disclosure. This information reflects data as reported to the Healthcare Cost Report Information System (HCRIS). These reports are a true and accurate representation of the data on file at CMS. Authenticated information is only accurate as of the point in time of validation and verification. CMS is not responsible for data that is misrepresented, misinterpreted or altered in any way. Derived conclusions and analysis generated from this data are not to be considered attributable to CMS or HCRIS.

While health plan information including benefits, copayments, premiums, and geographic coverage is publicly available on Healthcare.gov, CMS also publishes downloadable public use files (PUFs) so that researchers and other stakeholders can more easily access Exchange data.

The POS file contains data on characteristics of hospitals and other types of healthcare facilities, including the name and address of the facility and the type of Medicare services the facility provides, among other information. The data are collected through the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Regional Offices. The file contains an individual record for each Medicare-approved provider and is updated quarterly. The data is an invaluable resource to a variety of stakeholders, including researchers and application developers.

The Fiscal Intermediary maintains the Provider Specific File (PSF). The file contains information about the facts specific to the provider that affects computations for the Prospective Payment System. The Provider Specific files in text format are located in the Download section below for the following provider-types:

The Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey (MCBS) is a continuous, multipurpose survey of a nationally representative sample of the Medicare population, conducted by the Office of Enterprise Data and Analytics (OEDA) of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) through a contract with NORC at the University of Chicago. The central goals of the MCBS are to determine expenditures and sources of payment for all services used by Medicare beneficiaries, including co-payments, deductibles, and non-covered services; to ascertain all types of health insurance coverage and relate coverage to sources of payment; and to trace outcomes over time, such as changes in health status and spending down to Medicaid eligibility and the impacts of Medicare program changes on satisfaction with care and usual source of care.

A source for searching for data files available through the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

The Medicare Health Outcomes Survey (HOS) is the first patient-reported outcomes measure used in Medicare managed care. The goal of the Medicare HOS is to gather valid, reliable, and clinically meaningful health status data from the Medicare Advantage (MA) program to use in quality improvement activities, pay for performance, program oversight, public reporting, and to improve health. All managed care organizations with Medicare contracts must participate. The HOS is administered annually to a random sample of Medicare beneficiaries drawn from each participating MA plan and surveyed in the spring (i.e., a baseline survey is administered to a new cohort, or group, each year). Two years later, these same respondents are surveyed again (i.e., follow up measurement). The baseline sample size is twelve hundred. Cohort 1 was surveyed in 1998 and was re-surveyed in 2000. During the 2016 HOS administration, Cohort 19 was surveyed (baseline) and Cohort 17 re-surveyed (follow-up).

The CMS Drug Spending Dashboards are interactive, web-based tools that provide spending information for drugs in the Medicare Part B and D programs as well as Medicaid. The Dashboards focus on average spending per dosage unit and change in average spending per dosage unit over time. The tools also include additional manufacturer-level drug spending information as well as consumer-friendly descriptions of the drug uses and clinical indications.

CMS is committed to increasing access to its Medicare claims data through the release of de-identified data files available for public use. These files are available to researchers as free downloads in CSV format. They contain non-identifiable claim-specific information and are within the public domain.

This release contains the Chronic Conditions Public Use Files (PUF) with information from Medicare claims. The CMS Chronic Conditions PUF is an aggregated file in which each record is a profile or cell defined by the characteristics of Medicare beneficiaries. A profile is defined by all combinations of age category, gender, various chronic conditions, and dual-eligibility status of the beneficiaries. Hence, the number of rows (or records) in a CMS Chronic Conditions PUF represents the number of unique profiles in the Medicare population. For each profile many claim-related variables are provided in the form of averages.

The CMS Chronic Conditions PUF represents 100% of the Medicare beneficiaries provided in the 100% Beneficiary Summary File for each reference year. The 100% Beneficiary Summary File is created annually and contains demographic, entitlement and enrollment data for beneficiaries who were: documented as being alive for some part of the reference year of the Beneficiary Summary File, are entitled to Medicare benefits during the reference year, and enrolled in Medicare Part A and/or Part B for at least one month in the reference year.

"Public-use data files are prepared and disseminated to provide access to the full scope of the data. This allows researchers to manipulate the data in a format appropriate for their analyses."

"On SaferProducts.gov, consumers can submit reports of harm or reports of potential harm. After a short amount of time for review by the agency and named manufacturer, these reports go live on SaferProducts.gov and are searchable by the public. The public also can export search results."

"(NEISS) is a national probability sample of hospitals in the U.S. and its territories. Patient information is collected from each NEISS hospital for every emergency visit involving an injury associated with consumer products."

For all products regulated by the CPSC, the Commission issues a Letter of Advice (LOA) when there is a violation of a mandatory standard

Clinicaltrials.gov list of study trials related to COVID-19.

This primer is designed to help researchers, data scientists, and others who analyze health care claims or administrative data (herein referred to as “claims”) quickly join the effort to better understand, track, and contain COVID-19. Readers can use this guidance to help them assess data on health care use and costs linked to COVID-19, create models for risk identification, and pinpoint complications that may follow a COVID-19 diagnosis.

This is the data repository for the 2019 Novel Coronavirus Visual Dashboard operated by the Johns Hopkins University Center for Systems Science and Engineering (JHU CSSE). Also, Supported by ESRI Living Atlas Team and the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Lab (JHU APL).

The GISAID Initiative, originally known as a Global Initiative on Sharing All Influenza Data, involves public-private-partnerships between the Initiative's administrative arm Freunde of GISAID e.V., a registered non-profit association, and governments of the Federal Republic of Germany, the official host of the GISAID platform, Singapore and the United States of America, with support from private and corporate philanthropy.

In an effort to help combat COVID-19, we created a COVID-19 Public Datasets program to make data more accessible to researchers, data scientists and analysts. The program will host a repository of public datasets that relate to the COVID-19 crisis and make them free to access and analyze. These include the Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering (JHU CSSE) dataset, Global Health Data from the World Bank, and OpenStreetMap data.

These resources include data sources and dashboards consolidating COVID-19 case data from multiple sources. The Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center includes worldwide data, and state- and county-level data for the United States.

COVID-19 open-access data and computational resources are being provided by federal agencies, including NIH, public consortia, and private entities. These resources are freely available to researchers, and this page will be updated as more information becomes available. The Office of Data Science Strategy seeks to provide the research community with links to open-access data, computational, and supporting resources. These resources are being aggregated and posted for scientific and public health interests. Inclusion of a resource on this list does not mean it has been evaluated or endorsed by NIH.

The iSearch COVID-19 portfolio is NIH’s comprehensive, expert-curated source for publications related to COVID-19. Our COVID-19 Portfolio tool leverages the cutting-edge analytical capability of the iSearch platform, with its powerful search functionality and faceting, and includes articles from PubMed and pre-prints from medRxiv, SSRN, arXiv, bioRxiv, Research Square and ChemRxiv. The portfolio is updated daily with the latest available data.

A number of different international data sets made available through the Humanitarian Data Exchange.

Explore EPA datasets by topic, file type, office, bureau, harvest source, etc.

FDA recalls.

A number of human and animal drug databases along with devices.

Explore DHHS datasets by topic, file type, office, publisher, bureau, etc.

Rich source of health outlet information for the nation.

Browse datasets by agency (publisher), topic, tags, file type, and more.

"To help researchers locate an appropriate resource for sharing their data, as well as to promote awareness of resources where datasets can be located for reuse, BioMedical Informatics Coordinating Committee (BMIC) maintains lists of several types of data sharing resources:"

Browse these alphabetically or by category.

This guide was designed as an introduction to health data within the ICPSR, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research. More detailed searches can be accoplished by looking under the Find & Analyze data tab on the ICPSR webstie.

Scroll down to see options for exploring data and the data tools available.

Explore by categories.

The Department of Health & Human Services is responsible for the collection of information on a range of health related issues. The information is collected to monitor the general health and well-being of Michigan's citizens. These data are useful for health program development, targeting and evaluation of program progress. The information is used to identify emerging health issues and trends and can be made available for epidemiological research. Statistics are developed from the data collected to provide basic information on these health events in Michigan. The data are provided at the state, county and community level. Listed below are the categories of available statistics.

The Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR) is the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) electronic database comprised of health studies of DOE contract workers and environmental studies of areas surrounding DOE facilities. DOE recognizes the benefits of data sharing and supports the public's right to know about worker and community health risks. CEDR provides independent researchers and educators with access to de-identified data collected since the Department's early production years. Current CEDR holdings include more than 76 studies of over 1 million workers at 31 DOE sites. Access to these data is at no cost to the user.

Most of CEDR's holdings are derived from epidemiologic studies of DOE workers at many large nuclear weapons plants, such as Hanford, Los Alamos, the Oak Ridge reservation, Savannah River Site, and Rocky Flats. These studies have primarily used death certificate information to identify excess deaths and patterns of disease among workers to determine what factors contribute to the risk of developing cancer and other illnesses. In addition, many of these studies have radiation exposure measurements on individual workers.

Explore V.A. datasets by topic, filetype, bureaus, etc.