FLITE Course Guides
Course GuidesFLITE Course Guides
Course Guides
The Creative Artist's Legal Guide by
In today's complex media environment, aspiring filmmakers and new media artists are as vulnerable as swimmers in shark-infested waters. This user-friendly guide supplies creative artists with the essential legal concepts needed to swim safely with lawyers, agents, executives, and other experts in intellectual property and business law. How do I copyright my screenplay? How can I clear rights for my film project? What can I do to avoid legal trouble when I produce my mockumentary? How do I ascertain whether a vintage novel is in the public domain? Is the trademark I've invented for my production company available? What about copyright and trademark rights overseas? If I upload my film to YouTube, do I give up any rights? Bill Seiter and Ellen Seiter answer these questions and countless others while also demystifying the fundamental principles of intellectual property. Clear and thorough, this plain-spoken and practical guide is essential for anyone seeking to navigate the rapidly changing media environment of today.
Digital Media Law by
Covering the latest legal updates and rulings, the second edition of Digital Media Law presents a comprehensive introduction to all the critical issues surrounding media law. Provides a solid foundation in media law Illustrates how digitization and globalization are constantly shifting the legal landscape Utilizes current and relevant examples to illustrate key concepts Revised section on legal research covers how and where to find the law Updated with new rulings relating to corporate political speech, student speech, indecency and Net neutrality, restrictions on libel tourism, cases filed against U.S. information providers, WikiLeaks and shield laws, file sharing, privacy issues, sexting, cyber-stalking, and many others An accompanying website is regularly updated with new rulings, access to slip opinions and other supplementary material.
Getting Permission : How to License & Clear Copyrighted Materials Online & Off (5th Edition) by
Want to use copyrighted material? Better get permission first. If you plan to use any copyrighted material for your own purposes, you need to get permission first from the owners of that work. If you don't, you could find yourself slapped with an expensive and time-consuming lawsuit. Getting Permission tackles the permissions process head-on -- without the legalese. It shines the light on whom to ask for permission, as well as when -- and how much to expect -- to pay for permission. Comprehensive and easy-to-read, the book covers: * the copyright permission process * the public domain ("free" content) * how to figure out who owns a copyright * the "fair use" rule * school-related permissions * license and merchandise agreements * using trademark and fictional characters * website permissions * and much more Getting Permission includes agreements for acquiring authorization to use text, photographs, artwork, and music, whether it's found online or off. The edition of this essential guide is completely updated to reflect the latest laws and court decisions. Plus, read an all-new collection of practical, real-life FAQs, based on author Richard Stim's popular intellectual property blog, Dear Rich: Nolo's Patent, Copyright & Trademark Blog. -- With Downloadable Forms
Full text legal research articles from over 2,600 scholarly journals and government documents including congressional documents, treaties, constitutions, presidential documents, and case law. Also includes content specific to Michigan law such as session law, statutes, attorney general reports, bar journals, and a historical archive.