Finding Articles (Databases) - EDUC - Graduate Students - LibGuides at Ferris State University

Why bother with databases?

Everson, B. (2012). Why? [photo]. CC. Retrieved from www.flickr.com/photos/editor/6698208975/

1. Most of what you find on Google isn't scholarly.

2. When you do find something scholarly on Google, the site often asks you to pay for it.

3. You should never have to pay for content. That's what the library is for!

Best Bets - Recommended Databases: Education

Best Bets:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Our newest general database, Academic Search Complete provides hundreds of articles about education. Add Education to your search terms if your results are too broad.
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Best Bet Education Source is the world's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Best Bet: You can find ERIC on the web, but you won't be able to reach much full-text. Search ERIC from our website and use our "Find It" link to read the whole article. After graduation, continue to use ERIC on the Web at www.eric.ed.gov
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Best Bet Sage Journals are top-of-the-line, and, for Education, the full-text peer-reviewed journal articles you often need. On the Advanced Search page you'll see, type in your search term in one box and the word "Education" in the second box.

Also Try:

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Essays and viewpoints about controversial issues
PsycINFO and PsycArticles (APA via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The close connection between education and psychology will often send you to this important database, especially for special education.

Finding an Article in Full-Text

You've found an article, but you don't have the full-text yet. If you aren't using SmartSearch, many of your Education databases will supply a "Find-It" link which helps you find your online article. Sometimes "Find It" will lead you to the FLITE Library Catalog which means the journal is in print or microform. Contact the library, and we'll help get it to you. If you are off-campus, use InterLibrary Loan.

EDUC - Graduate Students

Why bother with databases?

Best Bets - Recommended Databases: Education

Best Bets: ​

Also Try:

Finding an Article in Full-Text

Best Bets: