LibGuides: HIST 300 (Peterson): Finding Articles: Primary Source Databases

HIST 300 - Peterson

Finding Articles: Primary Source Databases

Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers is a collection of six databases, each covering an individual newspaper title, providing full-text access to the content of major U.S. newspapers (including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries). Coverage begins with each paper's first issue and continues through recent years.

Chicago Defender 1909-1975
Chicago Tribune 1849-1993
Detroit Free Press 1831-1999
New York Times 1851-2013
Wall Street Journal 1889-1999
Washington Post 1877-2000

American Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages of over 1,240 American special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children’s and women’s magazines published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Manuscript, printed, and visual primary source documents on the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences from 1500 to 2000. Includes manuscripts, rare printed materials, letterbooks, periodicals, diaries, and photographs accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, interactive maps, and an interactive chronology.
Global Commodities This link opens in a new window
Manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organizations around the world depicting the history of fifteen major commodities and examining the ways that they have changed the world. Commodities include chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
GPO: Government Printing Office (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
Citations for millions of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, records, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments from 1976 to present.
Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive This link opens in a new window
Videos of over 56,000 testimonies from survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides including the Nanjing Massacre, the Tutsi in Rwanda, and others. All recordings have digitized transcripts and are searchable to the minute.

Next: Finding Articles: Secondary Source Databases >>

HIST 300 (Peterson)

Women's History

Contact

HIST 300 - Peterson

Finding Articles: Primary Source Databases