What is a persistent link? Have you ever copied a link from the library's databases only to find that the next time you used it, it didn't work. That's because when you are searching a database usually a temporary link is created. Therefore it is important when you are linking to articles in the library databases or records in the library catalog, you use the persistent link.
What is the difference between a persistent link and a stable URL? Essentially these terms are referring to the same thing. The terminology differs between databases. They can also be referred to as durable or permanent links, PURL (persistent universal resources locators) or Jumpstart.
So, once I embed a persistent link, I don't have to do anything else? Most persistent links or stable URLs rarely change but you should double check your links from time to time, perhaps annually, and update as needed. It is important to ensure that you have the full citation for the article you are linking to including author, article title, journal title, publication year and page numbers for copyright compliance and on the off-chance link changes and you need to find the article again .
How can I find the persistent link or stable URL? Every database is structured a little bit differently and some persistent links and stable URLs are easier to find then others.
Not all vendors provide persistent links to articles in their databases. These vendors DO provide persistent links; each may use a different term and location in their records:
Where can I use persistent links? You can embed persistent links into your Word and Powerpoint documents, Blackboard, webpages and emails. Incorporating permanent links must respect Library licensing agreements and conditions of use. Use of persistent links is restricted to currently enrolled Ferris State University students, faculty and staff.
Will persistent links work off campus? Yes, users will be asked to authenticate into the library system using their Ferris State University network user name and password.
What is a persistent link?
Have you ever copied a link from the library's databases, only to find it didn't work when you needed it?
When you search a database, a temporary link is created. When you link to an article, you need to link to a persistent link, not the temporary one.
What is the different between a persistent link and a stable URL?
Essentially, the terms refer to the same thing. The terms differ between databases. They can also be called durable or permanent links, PURL (persistent universal resources locators) or Jumpstart.
Once I embed a persistent link, am I done?
Most persistent links or stable URLs rarely change, but you should double-check your links occasionally, (at least annually), and update as needed. Keep the full citation of any article you use (author, article title, journal title, publication year, and page numbers), just in case the link changes and you need to find the article again.
How can I find the persistent link or stable URL?
Every database is built a little differently. Some links are easier to find than others.
Not all vendors provide persistent links to article sin their databases. These vendors DO provide persistent links; each may use a different term and location in their records
Where can I use persistent links?
Embed them in Word and Powerpoint documents, Blackboard, webpages, and emails. Incorporating persistent links requires that you respect Library licensing agreements and conditions of use. Use of persistent links is restricted to currently enrolled Ferris State University students, faculty, and staff.
Will persistent links work off campus?
Yes, a users will be asked to authenticate into the library system using their Ferris State University user names and passwords.
FLITE Research Guides