LibGuides: SOCY 121 (Jackson): Library Resources

Keyword Search Skills

To find specific resources for your projects think of just a few words that describe your topic. Try searching the FLITE Library catalog and databases with your words. Use the word "AND" (with all letters capitalized) to combine search terms. If your words aren't working out try swapping out one or more of your words with similar terms that still describe your topic. Repeat this process until you find what you're looking for.

SmartSearch

Search most of FLITE's resources right here:

Top Sociology Databases

If you're doing in-depth research, or just didn't find what you need in SmartSearch, check these out: The databases listed here are most likely to help you as you do sociology-related research.

Mouseover for more information!

SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
This database has sociology articles that have been published in journals put out by Sage. Added bonus: Everything is full text!

Databases for Controversial Topics

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Viewpoints from all perspectives on the most controversial issues using a variety of sources including journals, primary sources, reference sources, biographies, images, videos, audio recordings, news, magazines, statistics, and websites. Browseable by topic in categories such as business and economics, energy and environmentalism, health and medicine, law and politics, society and culture, science, technology, and ethics, and war and diplomacy.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full text reports dating back ten years on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Seasoned journalists research and write each 12,000 word report, which includes three pro-con debates, a background and chronology on the topic, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.
Facts on File This link opens in a new window
Essential news facts distilled from articles in over 100 major newspapers, news magazines, other periodicals, and government and online sources from the U.S. and around the world. Editors verify all facts for accuracy and edit summaries for maximum clarity. Browseable by topic, landmark event, country, person, or resource type such as editorial cartoons or statistics.