Open Access and Scholarly Communication at Ferris State University: Finding Open Access Content

• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals. Provides information about fees. 

• Directory of Open Access Books: Academic books from over 78 publishers.

• SHERPA: Publishers with paid options for open access can be found on SHERPA's website. Provides information about fees.

• OpenDOAR - The Directory of Open Access Repositories: Curated list of academic repositories.

• Directory of Open Access Scholarly Journals in Education: Listed open access education journals are peer reviewed.

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) Public Access Policy began in 2008 and requires open access of articles within 1 year of publication when the author(s) received funding from the NIH related to the manuscript. The articles must be posted on PubMed Central, the open access repository of the U.S. National Institutes of Health / National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). This growing body of freely available biomedical literature in PubMed Central is easily linked to from PubMed, the premier biomedical database, also from NIH/NLM.

Learn More about the NIH Public Access Policy:

• NIH Public Access Policy
• NIH Public Access Policy Training Materials (including videos)
• Duke University Public Access Policy Guide
• Washington University School of Medicine NIH Public Access Policy
• Harvard Medical School HMScholar : Open Biomedical Scholarship

• PubMed Central:  Open access repository of the U.S. National Institutes of Health / National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
• Open Access Theses & Dissertations: "OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world."
• Department of Energy Pages: "Public Access Gateway for Energy & Science"
• BioMed Central:  Search the contents of BioMed Central's 270 open access journal
• Chemistry Central: Peer-reviewed open access chemistry articles.
• SpringerOpen: Open access content in the sciences from Springer. 
• Social Science Research Network: Access to many free full text articles with free registration.
• Project Gutenberg: Over 46,000 free e-books.
• OAIster: Catalog of open access resources.