Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Radiography Research Guide: Full Text Linking

Quick Video Tutorial on Full Text Linking

Using Find It 

Help - How do I get the Full Text?

Only finding an abstract or citation for an article when searching within databases?  No worries, just look for the Find It link.

The Find It link may look like:

1: Find It link
2: Find It link
3: Find It link

Results list with Find It link

Not all databases will display the results in the same format, but regardless of the results list's layout, locate the Find It link if the article isn't immediately available in full text.

Results List with Find It

I Clicked Find It - Now What???

After clicking on Find It, a screen similar to the one below will appear.

Article Link Out

Interlibrary Loan

The Ferris Library, FLITE, cannot subscribe to every journal available. If there is no Full Text option available after clicking on Find It:

On-Campus Students: If after clicking on Find It you see Holding Information, select this option to see the library's holdings, and come over to FLITE to obtain the article.  If only ILL (Interlibrary Loan) is available, select this option and follow the instructions below.

Off-Campus Students:  If after clicking on Find It you see only Holding Information and Interlibrary Loan, you are not expected to come to the library to retrieve locally held articles (Holding Information option).  Instead, select the GO button by ILL (Interlibrary Loan) and follow the instructions below.

Interlibrary Loan Instructions:

  1. If you have never used Interlibrary Loan (ILL) before, you must first set up an account.  Please do the following:  
  • Go to the following link: http://illiad.ferris.edu/illiad/FirstTime.html
  • Go through the screen, and at the bottom click on First Time Users Click Here.
  • Fill out every field with an asterisk, then hit Submit Information, and you've created your own personal ILL account.
  • *Please note, the ILL username and password is simply anything that you can remember, so you don't have to get too fancy.

Once you have an ILL account created, the Find It link makes it simple to request desired articles via interlibrary loan.

  1. Click on the GO button by ILL (Interlibrary Loan)
  2. You'll be taken to the screen to login to your personal interlibrary loan account
  3. Once logged in, you'll notice all of the article information has been filled in, simply scroll to the bottom of the screen and hit Submit Request.
  4. Your article request will be processed, and when the article is secured, it will be posted online in your account.  You will receive an e-mail notice from the library that your article is available.  The e-mail contains a link to login to your ILL account.  Once logged in, select View, and then select Articles Received
  5. Your article will be in PDF format, and you can print or save the article.  Please print or save the article soon after receiving notice of its availability - articles are removed from your account after 3 weeks for copyright reasons.