FLITE
FLITEFLITE
FLITEMerriam-Webster's Learning Dictionary defines peer review as "a process by which a scholarly work (such as a paper or a research proposal) is checked by a group of experts in the same field to make sure it meets the necessary standards before it is published or accepted." (see http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/peer%20review).
Many FLITE databases let you limit your search results to peer reviewed articles.
A peer-reviewed journal contains peer-reviewed articles. It may also contain editorials, informational articles, and other non-peer-reviewed content.
The Journals search option on the FLITE web page gives the option to limit results to peer-reviewed journals.
To find journal and magazine articles on a particular topic, use one or more of the databases available on the FLITE Web site. These databases provide indexing to thousands of journal titles.
Google Scholar might also be useful. If you can't find what you need, contact Fran or the Reference Desk.
SmartSearch searches many of FLITE's electronic resources (journals, databases, ebooks) plus the book catalog in one step. Electronic resources listed in the initial search results are all available in full-text. Click the "" box to see articles that FLITE doesn't have but that we can get through Interlibrary Loan.
SmartSearch provides direct access to FLITE's journal packages, including Springer, Wiley, Elsevier, Oxford, and Sage, along with many other business and technology journals and publications.
Search most of FLITE's resources right here:
Be sure to set your library links to Ferris State University in Google Scholar settings.
1. Open Google Scholar at scholar.google.com
2. Click on the 3-line icon that identifies the Google Scholar menu at the top left.
3. Click on Settings, the "cog" that may be at bottom of list or at top right of column.
4. Click on Library Links.
5. Type in Ferris State University and save.
6. You will be able to link to many of FLITE's resources by logging in with your user name and password.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Ferris State University students, faculty, staff, and emeriti to request library materials not owned by FLITE. All requests are entered and managed through the online system ILLIAD. First time users will need to register for an account. See the ILL Guide for more information.