CLLS 101 - Medical Laboratory Science Orientation

Meeting the needs of patients while minimizing blood transfusions requires special expertise, precise monitoring and innovative techniques. This cutting-edge resource covers all the important clinical aspects of transfusion medicine in diverse clinical settings, with a special emphasis on alternatives to transfusion.

To reduce transfusion-related morbidity and mortality, it is recommended that an integrated approach to blood management is employed using all available tools to reduce a patient's exposure to donor blood.

Designed to meet the needs of both clinical laboratory technicians and clinical laboratory scientists,CLINICAL LABORATORY HEMATOLOGY has been updated into a brand new edition.

A short, up-to-date text on blood groups, for people working or training in the field of blood transfusion, transplantation, or human genetics, but who are not specialising in the field of blood groups, the third edition of Essential Guide to Blood Groups is a pocket-sized book, containing full colour text together with schematic figures and tables.

This new edition of an essential text for all those working within transfusion and blood banking is now even more biologically and clinically relevant, incorporating the latest information on the genes for various blood groups and including greater content on the functional significance of blood groups.

Coagulation testing is the basis for the diagnosis of bleeding and thrombotic disorders, as well as the mainstay of anti-coagulant monitoring and management. The laboratory director requires significant expertise to manage the coagulation laboratory.......

Critical testing information and key clinical protocols in the palm of your hand McGraw-Hill's Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Testsfocuses specifically on what you need to know to understand the test, educate the patient, and provide safe, effective care before, during, and after the test. In addition, this easy-to-use clinical companion is the only text to actively incorporate evidence-based practice features throughout, both in test monographs and appendices-a major advantage that enhances your ability to apply the book's content to your daily practice. Features: A cohesive 5-part organization covering the full range of laboratory tests, diagnostic tests, laboratory/diagnostic assessments of body function, education, and screening Time-saving alphabetical organization of tests with handy thumb tabs Full-color icons that highlight the organization of each test, and clearly identify important features throughout Skill-sharpening references to national guidelines, including JCAHO Full coverage of clinical interventions/implications Essential insights into the possible meanings of abnormal values and contraindications Key references that pertain to evidence-based practice Timely appendix on the increasing use of evidence-based practice Critical patient teaching information

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5624890 More than 500 illustrations, tables, and boxes that help students master difficult concepts, including those not routinely illustrated and highlighted in other texts Coverage of transfusion for transplantation. Full-color, step-by-step photographs illustrating ABO forward and reverse blood grouping Discussions of the legal and ethical aspects of providing blood collection and transfusion services Registry-style review questions and answers at the end of each chapter providing immediate feedback for students............

The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Haematology continues to provide the essential knowledge needed in modern clinical practice for the diagnosis and management of patients with disorders of the blood. Major advances in the specialty, primarily within the malignant haematology area, have been reflected in this thoroughly revised new edition. This Handbook includes the essential differential diagnoses and relevant investigations that will help junior doctors to arriveat a definitive diagnosis. The management of the patient is provided in a way that allows the junior to initiate treatment whilst waiting for review of the patient by a senior member of staff. A bestselling Oxford Medical Handbook, this is the indispensable companion for all those caring forpatients with blood disorders.

The accurate diagnosis of haematologic malignancies is a complex and challenging task. It routinely involves morphologic, molecular, cytogenetic and flow cytometric expertise. To determine what treatment protocol will be followed, it is vital to integrate, interpret and report these results accurately. Flow cytometry is key in this diagnostic pathway. This book guides the reader as to how flow cytometry results should be interpreted and applied to optimize patient care.

Offering a conscise and user-friendly guide focusing on the clinical aspects of transfusion medicine, this new edition of Practical Transfusion Medicine has been fully revised and updated with an improved text layout and a new chapter on cytokines in transfusion medicine.

A comprehensive compilation on plasma protein production from the leading experts in the field, Production of Plasma Proteins for Therapeutic Use presents manufacturing, testing methods, and regulatory issues for plasma-derived therapeutics, a global US$10 billion industry.

The perfect review for both MLT and MLS! Practice, practice, and more practice! Use this comprehensive, multimedia resource to gain the theoretical and practical knowledge you need to be prepared for classroom tests and certification and licensure examinations.

This volume comprises the invited plenary lectures and contributed papers presented at the WorldMedLab and the EuroMedLab in Berlin, May 2011 with more than 5.000 participants. The contributions in this volume provide a valuable and wide-ranging overview of current research in Laboratory Medicine and cognate disciplines.Special focus is given to Aging Society (neurological diseases), Tumors, Organ specific dysfunctions and Future of Laboratory Medicine.

Discover how analytical chemistry supports the latest clinical research This book details the role played by analytical chemistry in fostering clinical research. Readers will discover how a broad range of analytical techniques support all phases of clinical research, from early stages to the implementation of practical applications.

Note: 1 edition older than required course textbook. course-friendly link: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1167481&site=ehost-live A condensed, student-friendly version of Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry, this text uses a laboratory perspective to provide you with the chemistry fundamentals you need to work in a real-world, clinical lab....

Review of first edition: "This book tells every healthcare professional all they need to know about infection control... A user-friendly, valuable source of knowledge on a subject that can be confusing and complicated."

Over five million workers in health care related fields are at risk to exposure to bloodborne pathogens, such as the HIV virus and hepatitis B virus. Designed to meet the current OSHA training requirements, Bloodborne and Airborne Pathogens, Sixth Edition was designed to teach students how to prepare for potential occupational exposure to blood or other potentially infectious materials.

Developed by the AAP Committee on Infectious Diseases in conjunction with the CDC, the FDA, and other leading institutions with contributions from hundreds of physicians nationwide, the newly revised and updated 2012 Red Book continues the tradition of excellence with the latest findings and clinical recommendations on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 childhood conditions.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://online.statref.com.ferris.idm.oclc.org/Home/Resolve?id=29218&grpalias=MLC Organized alphabetically. Delmar's Guide of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests adds over 50 new entries to its compilation of over 600 lab and diagnostic tests. The most current information is provided in an easy-to-use format ideal for both students and practitioners of nursing, medicine, and medical technology.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=797560 "This book is a quick read and is ideal for busy laboratory managers and supervisors it contains a relatively complete index and additional reading sources for more detailed management discussions....

This book focuses on efficacy, toxicity, drug interactions, and abnormal clinical laboratory tests resulting from the use of herbal remedies. Although a few herbal remedies are safe and have efficacy (for example saw palmetto), many herbal remedies are toxic. This book guides in the interpretation of abnormal test results in otherwise healthy subjects due to use of herbal remedies.

A quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 commonly used diagnostic tests COVERS: Basic principles of diagnostic testing, common blood, urine and cerebrospinal fluid laboratory tests, therapeutic drug monitoring, microbiologic test selection and interpretation and diagnostic imaging tests by body system , electrocardiography, and differential diagnosis tables & algorithms Tests used in internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology and obstetrics and gynecology INCLUDES: Costs and risks of diagnostic tests Evidence-based information Diseases associated with abnormal test results, including test sensitivities Full literature citations with PubMed (PMID) numbers included foreach reference More than 24 NEW clinical laboratory test entries, 6 NEW differential diagnosis tables 5 NEW diagnostic algorithms NEW sections on point-of-care testing, provider-performed microscopy, pharmacogenetic testing, and diagnostic echocardiography

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link-springer-com.ferris.idm.oclc.org/book/10.1007/978-3-319-33900-9 In recent years, advanced molecular techniques in diagnostic microbiology have been revolutionizing the practice of clinical microbiology in the hospital setting. Molecular diagnostic testing in general and nucleic acid-based amplification methods in particular have been heralded as diagnostic tools for the new millennium. This third edition covers not only the most recent updates and advances, ...

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link-springer-com.ferris.idm.oclc.org/book/10.1007/978-3-319-95111-9 In recent years, advanced molecular techniques in diagnostic microbiology have been revolutionizing the practice of clinical microbiology in the hospital setting. Molecular diagnostic testing in general and nucleic acid-based amplification methods in particular have been heralded as diagnostic tools for the new millennium. This third edition covers not only the most recent updates and advances, but details newly invented omic techniques, such as next generation sequencing. It is divided into two distinct volumes, with Volume 1 describing the techniques, and Volume 2 addressing their applications in the field. In addition, both volumes focus more so on the clinical relevance of the test results generated by these techniques than previous editions. 

Diagnostic Standards of Care Series Description: A key issue for every laboratory and individual laboratory practitioner is the assessment of risk and a current working knowledge of the standards of care established for diagnostic testing via guidelines, major studies and trials.

A full-color review of the clinically important aspects of microbiology Includes more than 20 case studies The twenty-sixth edition of Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology delivers a concise, up-to-date overview of the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness.

One of the major problems in clinical practice is the diagnosis of cancer and determining how to manage cancer patients. More than any other disease, cancer diagnosis and management at this time depends on a broad range of molecular and immunological tests.

This manual describes laboratory methodology for diagnosing inborn errors of metabolism. Each chapter is sufficiently detailed so as to be self-contained, thus enabling any individual to adopt the method in their own laboratory and obviating the need for additional methods of references.

This timely book covers the need to know clinical practices for all those involved in molecular laboratory science.......

This book contains material relevant for students and researchers interested in the basic science of infectious diseases.

DESCRIPTION: The 2e of Molecular Diagnostics, the only book dealing with diagnosis on a molecular level, discusses current molecular biological techniques used to identify the underlying molecular defects in inherited disease......

As the definitive reference for clinical chemistry, Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics, 5th Edition offers the most current and authoritative guidance on selecting, performing, and evaluating results of new and established laboratory tests..........

Note: 1 edition older than required course textbook. course-friendly link: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1167481&site=ehost-live A condensed, student-friendly version of Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry, this text uses a laboratory perspective to provide you with the chemistry fundamentals you need to work in a real-world, clinical lab....

Medical mycology deals with those infections in humans, and animals resulting from pathogenic fungi. As a separate discipline, the concepts, methods, diagnosis, and treatment of fungal diseases of humans are specific. Incorporating the very latest information concerning this area of vital interest to research and clinical microbiologists,Fundamental Medical Mycology balances clinical and laboratory knowledge to provide clinical laboratory scientists, medical students, interns, residents, and fellows with in-depth coverage of each fungal disease and its etiologic agents from both the laboratory and clinical perspective. Richly illustrated throughout, the book includes numerous case presentations.