It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Genealogy Guide: Home
This guide is a bibliography listing some of the reference sources for Genealogy available. These materials are designed to give students and researchers a starting point for a particular topic and will usually point the way toward more indepth resources
There are thousands of websites about genealogy. This box highlights a few of the more popular and enduring sites in the past few years.
This list is one of the most well known and comprehensive lists of listservs and websites that relate to genealogy. Categories include geographic regions as well as ethnic groups or specialized subejcts. There is limited annotation available at this website.
This site provides name based searching for immigrants who arrived in the United States via Ellis Island. While not a complete listing, this site has attractive searching capabilities including alternative name spelling.
This website is sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, one of the worlds leading organizations relating to genealogy. The site provides detailed information both about their own genealogical resources and about the process of researching family histories.
This site is one of several United States government websites that provides statistics. This site lists contact information and resources for locating vital records such as birth, marriage and death records.
This project is a volunteer effort to make genealogical information freely available. It gives out contact information for local genealogical societies and sources. It also includes transcripts for public domain records and specialized projects such as tombstone transcriptions.
Genealogy Guys Podcast
Find out tips on what has changed in the genealogy world as things happen. Genealogy Guys podcast is one of the longest running podcasts on this topic.
Database Links- For in library use only
These are links to subscription databases held by FLITE. Some databases may need to be used in-house. Please contact Melinda Isler with any questions.
Not just another listing of genealogical sites, this dynamic guide-based on the author's popular workshops-shows how to unearth an amazing array of genealogical gold on the Web. Both amateur and professional researchers have marveled at how useful the Web can be for those with "Kovacs know-how." The author shares her best tips, techniques, and resources, including URLs and passwords for informative Web-based activities. Web forms for each activity allow you to report your progress and receive further tips. Here's just some of what researchers will learn: when to travel and when you can research from home; who to involve and how; what resources and techniques to avoid; how to connect with experts and key libraries; the best tools and sites for different stages of research.
Best-selling genealogy author Emily Croom presents a new and expanded version of her best-selling guide to genealogy. It provides readers with all the tools and information they need to jump into this great American hobby by focusing on fundamental strategies for success, questions to ask, places for research, and interesting examples of each step along the way. Throughout, readers will find techniques and suggestions for: * tapping family documents, oral tradition, and memories * exploring the vast array of U.S. public records, from newspapers and tombstones to censuses and land records * getting the most from names, dates, and handwriting of the past * developing a first-rate and meaningful family history Well-organized, well written, and comprehensive, this guide also offers readers charts, illustrations, reference sidebars, bibliographies, a glossary, and useful, reproducible forms. Each chapter is capped with a list of Things To Do Now to encourage readers or students to apply what they have learned. Recent polls show that 60% of the U.S. population is interested in researching their family history! Emily Croom is an active researcher, teacher, and lecturer in genealogy. She holds a master's degree in history and contributes articles to several genealogy periodicals. Her other books include the companion volume, the Unpuzzling Your Past Workbook, the widely-acclaimed the Genealogist's Companion & Sourcebook, and the exciting the Sleuth Book for Genealogists.
"Recommended for inclusion in any significant genealogy collection. Even experienced researchers will benefit from the author's fresh approach". -- National Genealogical Society Quarterly
"What makes this one special is its emphasis on fleshing out the images of the ancestors and on comprehending how their existence influenced present lives". -- Reference Books Bulletin
Included in the detailed coverage: terminology; getting started; organizing findings; how events in our ancestors' lives spawned informative documents; writing about forebearers so relatives can share in discoveries; appendixes listing resource centers; and more.